This and that

I have a guest blog I’ve been meaning to post, so I promise to share it soon. She’s another Dr. Kwak-Kim success story, as well as an advocate. You won’t want to miss the letter she wrote to her previous RE, who diminished her hopes of achieving a successful pregnancy. He was wrong!! If you would like to share a post, please email me @ Baby4Lisa(at)gmail(dot)com. It can be anything uplifting or inspiring about infertility, adoption, surrogacy, pregnancy, childbirth, or motherhood.

Graham will be 4 months old in about a week! He is such a happy, alert, curious, playful little guy. We’ve seen a big change over the past few weeks. I can tell his tummy problems don’t bother him as much. It makes me feel so good to see him so happy! Graham is a great sleeper, too. Every morning, I wake up before him and can’t wait for him to wake up! He rarely cries anymore for me to come and get him. I tend to find him munching on his fingers, looking around, and cooing. He gives me millions of smiles in the morning and throughout the day and makes my heart overflow. We are incredibly lucky and blessed to have him in our lives.

He had a weight check last Monday and is now about 12 lbs and 23 inches!! Graham is such a little man, but growing amazingly well. I think about how teeny tiny and skinny he was when he was born. He’s getting heavy now lol! There are some cute little fat rolls forming! He’s in a phase where he won’t let us hold him like a baby anymore! I miss cuddles! I love that he’s growing, meeting milestones, and becoming more independent – but at the same time, it’s sad. Sometimes he looks like a little boy, not a baby! It’s like whoa, where did my little baby go?!

I mentioned in my last post that I started my first PPAF. Andy and I discussed TTC, and we are not ready to make any decisions regarding the possibility of future fertility treatments. I don’t know if we’ll ever go down that road again. We just want to enjoy our sweet boy. One thing we did decide upon, is not preventing pregnancy. We are going with the flow and letting nature take its course. If another miracle should come our way, we would feel amazingly blessed. I can’t even fathom that happening. It would blow my mind! It seems very unlikely, especially since I have so few eggs left.

Andy seems to want to try naturally. He was pretty insistent on lots of BD this cycle lol. I want to keep it as relaxed as possible. I mean, we’re on the same page though. We are enjoying each other and soaking up these precious moments with Graham. I will probably be testing monthly, unless AF shows first. If I somehow tested positive, I would need to start Lovenox and Prednisone. Right now, I’m taking Metformin, baby aspirin, and prenatals with extra Folate. Those meds are good for my diagnoses and overall health.

4 thoughts on “This and that

  1. So much joy and love in this update, Lisa! Glad things are going so well with Graham, and that he’s gained a good amount of weight. I like what you said about trying naturally and if it happens it happens – but testing so you can start taking necessary meds if needed. Cute that Andy is so positive about that. 🙂

    I was wondering if I could ask you a question about the Metformin… I’ve been on it for a while and I liked how my body responded, but I’ve also heard/read it can be bit taxing on the body so not sure I should continue. Curious what tests you took that indicated you needed it (blood sugar tests?)? My grandmother had late-onset diabetes and carried her weight similarly to me but I’ve not been tested.

Leave a comment