Hospital Bag and post-partum care: What I actually used

I thought it might be helpful to do an updated post about my hospital bag and post-partum care items. Click here for the original post.

This was my list:

Hospital Bag:
•Photo ID, insurance card, list of medications, and birth plan (also pediatrician info if you have one) –

  • These items were a must.

•A couple changes of clothes (loose-fitting maternity clothes) –

  • I only needed one outfit for going home. I stayed in my hospital gown because things got messy.

•Underwear –

  • I didn’t use any. The hospital provided mesh underwear to wear with huge pads. I definitely would not have wanted to wear my own right away. I bought depends to wear for the first week or so, with a pad inserted inside. The bleeding was very heavy.

•Bras/nursing bras –

  • I only wore one on my way home. Since I cannot breastfeed due to medical reasons, I had to wear a bra 24-7 for a couple weeks after giving birth, to help keep my milk from coming in. I only had a couple days where my breasts swelled, got sore, and leaked a tiny bit.

•Breast pads –

  • Only needed them for a couple days, since I am not breastfeeding.

•Socks –

  • I didn’t need any. The hospital wanted me to wear their socks that had tread on the bottom, so I wouldn’t slip and fall.

•Flip flops –

  • These were a MUST for me! My feet began swelling massively the day I left the hospital. I had a pair of cheap flip flops that were kinda big and loose on my feet, thank goodness.

•Slippers –

  • Didn’t use any.

•Chapstick –

  • Very important! My lips got soooo dry during labor.

•Nipple cream, if nursing –

  • I didn’t need any. My milk hadn’t come in anyway, so even if I was nursing, I would not have needed it. (If you are breastfeeding, you probably should bring it.)

•My own shampoo, conditioner, body wash, toothbrush, toothpaste, deodorant, lotion, body spray, hair gel. –

  • I LOVED having my own stuff when I took a shower!!

•Hair ties and/or headbands –

  • Definitely needed those!

•A couple snacks –

  • Hubby needed them, since it was such a long labor. Glad we brought some.

•Hard candies for me to suck on (some people bring suckers or popsicles) –

  • I actually didn’t use any. The hospital had popsicles, and I mostly sucked on ice chips.

•Change for vending machines –

  • Hubby used it all.

•Extra batteries for the camera –

  • We didn’t end up needing any extra ones. We took some photos on our camera, but used our phones a lot.

•When ready, we will grab the camera and my phone and charger (Andy’s phone and charger, too). –

  • Definitely needed those!

•Our laptop isn’t working, or we would bring that as well. –

  • N/A (Would have been nice to have, but my phone worked fine.)

•Pillow for me and boppy nursing pillow –

  • I didn’t bring any pillows. I kind of wish I had. The hospital pillows SUCK so bad!! Although, my pillows would have gotten messy, most likely. I could have maybe gotten some cheap pillow cases and waterproof covers or something.

In a smaller duffel bag:
•A couple outfits for Graham –

  • We only used one outfit for going home, but we probably could have used more if we wanted. We were glad we had different sizes, since he was a lot smaller than we thought he would be.

(Hospital will provide all items needed for baby’s care while you’re there).
•Extra space to take as many hospital goodies as we can (LOL, everyone does it). –

  • We took everything we could! The nurse told us to.

Items on hand to take care of my post-pregnancy body:
•Depends –

  • These were great to have.

•Super heavy, long pads –

  • I am STILL using a ton of these! I should have bought like 10 packs of them!
    (Hospital will provide mesh underwear and other personal care items while you’re there).

•I’m hoping to get a peri-bottle at the hospital to take home. –

  • They gave me one. It’s important to use every time you go to the bathroom.

•Extra underwear –

  • Since I used Depends during the heaviest days, I haven’t had to throw any out now that I’m wearing them. Larger underwear is a must. They don’t have to be granny-panties necessarily. I have hipsters, which are roomier.

•Bras/nursing bras –

  • I was glad I had a couple bras that were a little loose on me, because my boobs got bigger when my milk was trying to come in. Now, they are about the same size they were during pregnancy. They might be getting a little smaller.

•Breast pads –

  • Barely used. You will need plenty if you are breastfeeding.

•Nipple cream –

  • Didn’t use. You will need it if you’re breastfeeding.

•Tucks Pads or Preparation H Wipes (look for witch hazel as the ingredient) –

  • Oh yes, you will definitely want these!!

•Colace (stool softener) –

  • Very important! I have hemorrhoids from giving birth, and it hurts to go # 2! I still take Colace everyday.

•Ibuprofen (pain reliever) –

  • I definitely had to take some all day long, everyday. I still need it. I also had Vicodin, but still needed Ibuprofen.

•I found this awesome recipe on Pinterest to make your own “padsicles”, which are pads soaked in witch hazel and then frozen. They’re supposed to feel pretty amazing on your lady parts after giving birth. *Click Here*

  • I didn’t end up making these. I should have though. The hospital had some iced pads, which felt nice. I took a few home with me.
4 thoughts on “Hospital Bag and post-partum care: What I actually used

  1. Great list! I’ve been getting around to making our hospital bags for a few days (baby’s bag is done and mine & hubby’s are still piles of stuff on the table). This is really going to help me finish packing. Thank you, and congrats on your perfect little Graham!! He’s sooo adorable!

  2. Oh I remember taking a ton of stuff when I had my 3rd….- with my 2nd I was there for a whole week due to my blood sugar levels bottoming out-… the hospital was 2 hours away so going home wasn’t an option. –

    One thing I made sure to have was cell phone charger, because my cell phone battery life stinks! LOL!

  3. Oh I remember the hospital bag. *sings* Memories……
    Anyway…. the hospital really does provide you with a lot of stuff. There’s really no need to bring more than one outfit for yourself (your go home outfit), and maybe 1 or 2 for the baby.
    Oh well, live and learn 🙂

Leave a Reply

