2 weeks! Our family of 3.

I hadn’t put much thought into what I would write about after Graham was born. I’d still like to do updates. I don’t want to abandon my blog, as it as been a big part of my life since 2010. I’ve shared so much of myself and my life here. I’ve met a lot of amazing people through blogging, and I love you all. I’m thinking about inviting guest bloggers who are in various stages of TTC, adoption, pregnancy, parenting, etc. If you have something to share, please email me @ Baby4Lisa(at)gmail(dot)com. It can be anything – your TTC success story, a pregnancy-related topic, birth story, a post about infertility awareness, health-related, questions for my readers, tips on TTC or parenting, etc. I can share your name or make it totally anonymous.

My due date is a couple days away, but my baby is 2 weeks old already!! Please slow down time! Graham is such a strong little guy! He began holding his head up and turning it from side to side about a week ago, and everyday he gets better at it. His movements are so uncoordinated though (babies are like tiny drunk people. LOL). He knows he wants to grab something, but his arms just flail around like karate chops. He has learned how to grab my hair, my face, and my shirt. He tries to hold his bottle and pacifier. Graham often flings his pacifier across the room, instead of bringing it to his mouth like he wants. LOL. (I should add, this is normal for newborns. It takes time for them to learn to control their movements). He makes so many different facial expressions now, too! I love it!

Andy and I are doing pretty well! Andy didn’t have any baby experience, but he caught on really quickly with all aspects of childcare. He is amazing with Graham. He sings and plays his guitar for him, talks to him, soothes him, and takes such good care of him. It’s so adorable to see my hubby with Graham. I love cuddle time with my sweet baby boy. I could just stare at him forever, whether he’s awake or asleep. My love for him is indescribable. My favorite part is when I can look right into Graham’s eyes. He knows exactly who I am, and I see love in his eyes. It’s an amazing feeling. I really am a mom! I’m so lucky.

Yesterday was the first day by myself where I felt like I had it mostly altogether, and I had this mommy thing down. I needed a good day like that to boost my confidence. I was beginning to doubt myself. It’s been tough because Graham has been struggling with gas, constipation, hiccups, spit up, etc. It makes him cry and scream, and I can see that he’s in pain. It makes my heart hurt. We are trying EVERYTHING and have spoken with the pediatrician a few times. I know these problems are common, but it’s so sad to see YOUR baby go through it and not be able to help him. Good news though – We started using Gripe Water yesterday (it’s over-the-counter – just fennel and ginger), and it seems to be helping his tummy issues!!! After his first dose yesterday, he slept pretty peacefully for 3 hours!! I wanted to cry tears of joy because I could tell my sweet baby felt better. I hope this continues!!

I will try to write more soon and post more pics! πŸ™‚ There are a few more photos in the 2 posts prior to my birth story, if you didn’t see those yet.

6daysold

1150268_372310376228805_594431174_n

557363_371917779601398_909626464_n

1098358_371028036357039_758421902_n

12 thoughts on “2 weeks! Our family of 3.

  1. Glad to hear motherhood is treating you well (although I absolutely sympathize with the fussy baby in the early weeks and am happy the gripe water is working for you). Graham is so precious–I love that pic of him smiling!!

  2. He’s so cute! Really adorable. And you are doing a great job. Glad you had a few moments of him feeling a bit better. It is terrible when they’re in pain w/ tummy upsets, or even teething, when that arrives down the road. When he’s upset, if one thing doesn’t work, just keep trying new things until something does…my grandma gave my mom that advice, who told me, and though it is so simple, it’s helped me…I have always repeated it to myself when nothing seemed to be working/helping! I used to lay my little guy on his side and back, cradled in his Boppy, and just pat his back and move his legs to help with the gas…over and over…we would stay that way for what seemed like hours! But it did help. And with my daughter, I used to walk out on the porch and she would immediately stop crying; she loved outside (if full disclosure, that actually never worked with my son — he could care less!). They’re all different…but you guys are terrific parents and figuring him out! There’s a real learning curve but you are doing awesome. So glad you are enjoying these snuggly moments with him. All too soon they get wiggly and on the move πŸ˜‰ these are definitely special days!!

  3. Please don’t stop posting! Would love to keep up with you and Graham as you continue on your new path :). You are doing great and what you were made to do!

  4. I agree with the commenters who encouraged you to keep posting. I like reading your posts keeping up with you guys. I like that you want to use your blog to help people, too. Love your descriptions of Graham’s karate chops and looking into eyes of love. Very sweet. πŸ™‚

  5. Loving all the pictures and posts, I really do hope you find the time to keep blogging about Graham and you have some really good ideas. Poor guy with the gassy problems, I used to lie Miss Shaelyn on her back (like we had a choice lol) and had her ride a bicycle by rotating her legs, and also massaging her abdomen (laying on our arm face down with her back to our front kinda looked like she was sideways), these two tricks helped her, again every baby is different and what works for some doesn’t always mean it will work for others. Gripe water just made her throw up, you will figure it out, stay positive. Would love to try the probiotics but she is not allowed to have them because of her anti rejection drugs.

    You really are doing a great job and seeing the pictures just proves it, Graham looks like one Happy, Loved, Content little guy. Love his smile, handsome as ever!!!

    Love, Hugs & Kisses to you all!!!

  6. He is so cute! God bless him!

    Im not from US, so just was wondering about the big pacifier? Is it somehow better than the regular ones? have noticed it a lot online….sorry to ask.

  7. I love love love this update. The pictures are adorable. Makes me so excited to meet my little boy. So glad to hear everything is going well for you three πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

