We’re home!

Thank you all for the love, support, and wonderful comments! We are overwhelmed with joy and love. We appreciate you all sharing in this happy time with us. I will work on the birth story (never thought I’d type out that sentence!!).

We were discharged from the hospital on Monday the 5th. No extra hospital stay!! Thank God. Graham is tiny, but mighty. He was breathing on his own and eating right away. We had done a lung maturity test prior to the induction, which showed his lungs were fully matured. The first night/morning after I gave birth to him, he had low blood sugar. The nurses said that was common with small babies. That issue quickly resolved! He also had a lower body temperature, so we had to (and still do) keep him wrapped up in extra layers. He doesn’t have much body fat yet. We will fatten him up!

Despite those minor issues, our baby is healthy as can be!! Thank goodness my doctors caught the growth issue and induced early. They had estimated him at 6 lbs, 3 oz prior to birth – but he was only 5 lb, 8 oz! It was worse than they originally thought. My placenta was in poor shape, which can cause IUGR (Intrauterine Growth Retardation). It happens, there’s not really any cause for it. IUGR was one of my risk factors, but I’m not sure if it has to do with my autoimmune disorder or blood clotting disorders. Graham only lost one ounce of his birth weight prior to leaving the hospital. All the nurses said that was really good.

Coming home with our take home baby was one of the happiest days of our lives. Andy and I felt like we were floating around on a cloud. We kept looking at each other and smiling so big, as well as crying. We kept staring at Graham constantly, just in awe of our new life. It just felt so perfect, so right. And it still does.

Today will be our 4th day at home with our little miracle. We are figuring out routines and learning to be parents. We are loving every minute of it!! It’s surprising how much natural instinct kicks in. We were so nervous prior to having Graham. There were times I wondered if I’d be a good enough Mom, or if I’d be totally clueless when it came to taking care of his daily needs. Andy had similar worries. It feels natural though for us both! We’re doing a good job, if I do say so myself. 🙂 It helps that we have such a sweet baby boy. He is amazing, strong, cuddly, and usually pretty peaceful! We just love him so much, there’s aren’t even words.

Graham had his first Pediatrician appointment yesterday! He already gained a few ounces! Yay!! Everything looks great. We return to the doctor in 3 weeks.

I’m recovering quite well, but my body is still worn out and sore. It’s been awesome having Andy home this week. He is such a good Dad and husband!! He goes back to work Friday. 😦 My mom is coming to town on Friday to help me out, so that will be nice. Our families are so excited and have been great!

1 day old:

561815_368300503296459_1224250929_n

2 days old:

543817_368589009934275_2132641167_n

3 days old:

1011226_369092923217217_1773126001_n

4 days old (first outing and doctor appt):

photo

23 thoughts on “We’re home!

  1. I am in tears looking at the pictures of your little man! I am so happy for you! I have followed your journey for quite a while and have been rooting for you guys! Enjoy and Congrats 🙂

  2. So happy for you guys!!!! I just kind of randomly found and started following your blog awhile before you conceived Graham, and it’s been so inspiring to follow this story! Congratulations over and over again! He’s beautiful!

Leave a Reply

