Update on contractions

33 weeks, 5 days ~

(See previous post, if you haven’t yet)

I’m still having some cramping and contractions here and there. Mostly, I’m experiencing Braxton Hicks contractions. Last night, I had 3 “real” contractions that came every 8-10 minutes. I was beginning to get nervous, but thankfully they stopped.

I’m resting and staying hydrated. I haven’t done anything out of the ordinary the times I’ve had contractions. Pre-term labor is one of my risk factors, but it still comes as a shock. I will listen to my body and won’t hesitate to go to Labor & Delivery again if needed.

I plan on calling my OB AND my high risk doc tomorrow morning (Monday). I have an appointment with my high risk doc on Thursday and an appointment with my OB on Friday. They may want to see me sooner. I would have called them already, but things have been pretty calm. My next growth scan is this week. I can’t wait to see how big Graham is now! I think he should be about 5 lbs, maybe a little over.

I just really really hope Graham keeps baking for awhile. I want him to be healthy as can be! Not only that, but I love being pregnant and having him in my belly (I’m selfish haha). Plus, we have more to do before his arrival. I’m nervous that he may come early, but then again he might not. Even if does, he’ll be in good hands. Everyone has been so reassuring and supportive. I really appreciate it.

20 thoughts on “Update on contractions

  1. Its not selfish to want to keep your baby in longer, trust me! It was one of the biggest things I had to morn in the girls pregnancy. I thought I would get a full term or at least a twin full term pregnancy and that was a disappointment. Hopefully Graham will bake longer for you, but if not you did an awesome job! He will do wonderfully at over 33 weeks and if he is 5 lbs then you are a wonder woman.

  2. I’m glad things have calmed down! I thought of something that might make you feel better. When I had the PTL scare with the twins, the big goal was for me to make it to 34 weeks. The docs said if I got that far they would not stop labor if it started, and I celebrated like crazy when I reached it. You’re basically there! I hope he stays put for a while too of course, but wanted to try to reassure you that if he were to arrive this early he’d be okay.

    On a side note – I’m still just so excited about your baby! Do you still pinch yourself every day? The twins are 3 months old and I’m still pinching myself every day – not believing that they’re mine. Can’t wait to meet Graham! (though hopefully it will be a little while yet) ๐Ÿ™‚

    • That’s good to know! Very reassuring. I have been thinking that’s why they didn’t do much in Labor & Delivery.
      I’m so happy that you finally have your babies!! It really is amazing and hard to believe! I still feel like I’m dreaming most of the time. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Glad things are staying calm for the moment! Other than taking care of yourself like you are doing, the timing of these things is always just completely beyond our control…hopefully he stays put for a while, but like others have said, he will do great at this point if you need to deliver early. Will keep sending thoughts and prayers your way!

  4. The good news is, most babies that reach 34 weeks gestation have very few, if any complications. In fact, if he’s five pounds and doesn’t present any breathing or heart problems, your stay in the hospital would probably be the same as that of a full term baby. I totally don’t blame you for wanting him to stay put longer and it’s not selfish at all. But at least have some piece of mind that 34 weeks is usually the threshold doctors want to see you reach. Like Meggola said, most doctors won’t stop labor after that point unless there is a reason to.

    • Not trying to be a downer here, but just realistic. My daughter was 33 weeks, and only weighed 4 pounds 1 ounce. I had steroid shots for her lungs. She was in the NICU for 23 days and was only on oxygen for about 12 hours. My best friend had her son at 34 weeks. He was 6 pounds, but having trouble breathing. He was on a vent and actually came home with an apnea monitor. He was in the hospital for a month.

      While it is true that 34 weekers are what they call “feeders and growers” and they generally don’t have any lasting effects from their prematurity, they are still definitely preemies and have issues because of it. It depends on the hospital protocol, but many will try to stop labor up to 36 weeks because of lung maturity.

      Again, I’m not saying this to be mean or negative. I just often see women who don’t want to bother their doctors or aren’t sure if their symptoms are “serious enough” to call or go in. With my experiences, I’d err on calling on going in every single time, even if you end up feeling like the dork that always calls!

      That being said it does sound like things have calmed down a lot and I’m really glad to hear it! I hope Graham stays in there a few more weeks and comes out healthy and happy and big!

      • That’s okay, I appreciate your input. ๐Ÿ™‚ I know it’s very serious to have a baby this early. I seriously hope he doesn’t come. If he does, I’d rather think positively (although I’m scared and know what to expect). I’m a pediatric nurse, so I’ve seen many different outcomes, as well. One great thing is that the hospital in our city (where I was working) is one of the best peds hospitals in the country.

        Don’t worry, I’m calling my doctors. Things have been quiet, so there was no need to over the past couple days. I’m not worried about bugging them or whatever. I will always do whatever it takes to take care of my baby.

    • That’s great! Some other friends have told me that, too. We’ve seen him breathing on ultrasounds, so hopefully he’s doing just what he needs to do. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Oh hi! I’m so sorry I haven’t updated. Been half busy / half resting. I’m doing well and barely having contractions ๐Ÿ™‚ Yay! I see my MFM tomorrow and OB on Friday. They don’t feel concerned yet. I will update after my appts. Thanks for thinking of me ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Oh my god, this all sounds so frightening! I am totally surprised that they didn’t give you anything to stop the contractions… don’t women usually get put on magnesium or something like that? The good thing is that you’re past viability and, if Graham was born now, he’d be OK (but obviously it’s better that he stays put for a while longer). All you can do is just rest and keep you feet up as much as possible. Just keep reminding yourself that your baby is totally healthy, even through all these contractions! Sending lots of love your way…

Leave a Reply

