Week 31 Update

How far along: 31 weeks, 1 day! We are now in single digits for the weeks leading to his arrival….!

How big is baby: A Pineapple! “He’s about 15.2 to 16.7 inches long and weighs about 2.5 to 3.8 pounds this month. He’s getting so big, he’s probably crowding your lungs.” Last week he was 3 lbs, 14 oz!

week31What baby is doing:

  • He’s going through major brain and nerve development.
  • Eye development, too. His irises now react to light!
  • All five of his senses are in working order.

Movement:Β Quite a bit of movement! Occasionally, he gently kicks my ribs, but I haven’t experienced any painful kicks like some people do. It tickles more than anything. πŸ™‚ I can also feel his arms/hands moving around and punching my pelvic region. There have been body parts seriously bulging out! Sometimes my whole belly shakes and jumps when he moves!! It can be strange and shocking, but super awesome at the same time! I love it so much!! Poor Andy, he’s always putting his hands on my belly to try to feel something…but Graham is shy. Andy has only felt light movement once. We’ll keep trying. πŸ™‚

Weight Gain: 25 lbs total.

Have you started to show yet? My belly hasn’t been growing as quickly as it did in the beginning (or specifically between weeks 16-21). The growth began slowing down around weeks 25-26. Then, it started to fill out and get rounder and firmer. It’s still growing outward, but more gradually now. I think my belly started looking its best around week 28 or so! I’m very proud of it. ‘I like big bellies, and I cannot lie…’ πŸ˜‰

Maternity Clothes: I mentioned recently my clothing is fitting a bit awkwardly. I think I am going to buy a few more things, but then I’m done shopping. I don’t want to spend much more money. I mostly just need a few more tops that fit nicely (if those exist LOL). I’ll be wearing loose tops and pants for awhile after giving birth, so it makes sense to get a few more.

Food Cravings: My appetite is still poor most of the time. When I do want something, it’s usually fruit, cheese, crackers, salad, and veggies. Just light food that I can nibble on. (I am making myself eat other foods to get proper nutrition). Buffets or parties are amazing because there’s lots of food I can pick at. I usually find something to fill up on. It’s weird because when I’m browsing Pinterest, I crave all these beautiful, decadent sweets and baked goods. There’s no way I would eat them — they’re too rich! Man, they look good though!

Emotions: Once again, I was crying the other day because we don’t have the nursery done yet. There’s so much we still need for Graham. I go through irrational periods thinking we won’t be ready at all. Hormones, nesting, and OCD — Oh My! We should be getting some of our nursery furniture soon, which makes me feel better. I’ll probably be crying about something else after that haha. Luckily my hubby is supportive and helps me through my hormonal moods. He’s so good to me. We both get more and more excited as the weeks go on (scared, as well – but thrilled).

Sleep: It’s pretty tough, but that is to be expected.

Best moment this week: Maternity photos and my first baby shower!!

Worst moment of the week: Prednisone withdrawal and having the flu. 😦 I will write more about the withdrawal soon.

What I am looking forward to: Putting some furniture in the nursery! My next baby shower on the 30th!

Upcoming Appts/Other Updates:Β I’m almost done with Prednisone and Metformin!

  • 6/25/13: OB check up and NST (Non-Stress Test)
  • 6/30/13: Baby shower # 2!
  • 7/2/13: OB check up and NST
  • 7/11/13: MFM check up and growth ultrasound
  • 7/12/13: OB check up and NST
  • 7/16/13: OB check up and NST
  • 7/20/13: ONE MONTH UNTIL MY DUE DATE!
  • 7/21/13: Hospital tour!

Belly pic: I will post one soon. I’ve been very ill. I’ll probably take my photo today.

3 thoughts on “Week 31 Update

  1. Awe, I feel for you, I hope you are feeling better very soon. You are getting there…I can’t wait!!!

  2. A pineapple!! I swear I was just saying to you that a melon is huge or a papaya is huge…or something…but damn! A pineapple is HUGE! Also, I can’t wait to see nursery pictures πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

