Week 30 Update and Dr. Kwak-Kim treatment changes

I shortened my regular weekly update post, since much of the information is the same as week 29. I do have some changes to my treatment protocol from Dr. Kwak-Kim! I just spoke with her nurse yesterday. I’ll be weaning off of Prednisone and should be done with it in a couple weeks. I’ll also be stopping Metformin in a couple of weeks. At week 36, I’ll discontinue my Lovenox injections but switch to Heparin injections for the remainder of my pregnancy. Less medications – woot!!

I don’t need to get anymore immune panels done! Basically, I am released from Dr. Kwak-Kim’s care, unless there are any problems. It’s bittersweet, but OMG I’m having a healthy baby soon!! πŸ˜€ Dr. Kwak-Kim wants an update once the baby is born. The nurse said to send photos. πŸ™‚ I expressed my gratitude profusely for all they’ve done for me. I need to send them a card or something special! I owe them a lot!!

How far along: 30 weeks, 1 day! 69 days to go – whoa!

How big is baby: A cucumber. “Your 15.2- to 16.7-inch, 2.5- to 3.8-pound baby continues to grow.” We will find out tomorrow at my MFM appointment how big he actually is!

week30Stretch Marks: 2 small marks popped up out of the blue since last week! They are right beside each other on the lower left side of my belly. I’d say they’re about half an inch long and reddish in color. I don’t think I see any others yet, unless they’re too small. It’s hard to see the lower portion of my belly. I didn’t get upset at all when I discovered them. I figured I’d get a least a few before his arrival.

Symptoms: You know what’s funny? The 3rd trimester reminds me a lot of the first trimester! And this is not complaining, it’s simply a description of what symptoms I have. I am just as fatigued, if not more. I go back and forth between not wanting to eat anything to wanting to eat everything in sight. I am nauseated and have episodes of gagging (luckily no puking). I am cramping occasionally, but I can’t tell if it’s gas/constipation or my uterus – which I had a lot of in the first trimester. The only thing different is the severe heartburn/reflux. But really, I feel great overall! I don’t feel “as pregnant” as I am. I thought I’d feel a lot more uncomfortable by now, but I don’t.

Upcoming Appts/Other Updates: I found out yesterday for sure that I passed my glucose test! Yay! One less thing to worry about, as it was one of my risk factors. I know I say it alllll the time, but I am just SO incredibly grateful to have made it this far with no major problems. I think back on all the struggles we had, and I cry. I cry because so much has changed. I will never forget how hard it was to get here. I cry happy tears. I cry because I love my baby boy and my husband so much – my family! I cry for my friends still struggling. I cry because there is hope, and I want everyone to feel that hope, too. And I cry because I want the struggles to end for everyone out there.

–6/13/13: MFM check up and growth ultrasound!

–6/15/13: Baby shower # 1! — This weekend – YAY!

–6/25/13: OB check up and NST (Non-Stress Test)

–6/30/13: Baby shower # 2!

Belly pic:

30weeks

10 thoughts on “Week 30 Update and Dr. Kwak-Kim treatment changes

  1. I don’t think there are honestly words to describe how inspiring you and your story are to me and probably many of us. Everyday I see you pregnant and Graham growing so big and strong just proves that miracles truly do happen!

  2. Wow, I am lost for words!!! That’s a first for me..hehehe! Looking as beautiful as ever Lisa, you are glowing, I may have to put my shades on. Your sneak peek photos are beautiful, I can’t wait to see more. Graham is almost baked!!! I am stoked, in just a few short weeks we will all be reading your Birth Story and seeing his stunning handsome face here, I CAN’T WAIT!!! Have a blast at your shower this weekend, I am hoping you get (awe darn, I know you are going to get)everything you need for this little miracle and much more. Glad things are settling down over the next few weeks with your meds, this means it is so close….I’m all giddy for you. Lots of Love to you and Andy and of course a big Belly hug from Shaelyn and I for Graham.

  3. Congrats on reaching the safe zone! It’s amazing you tolerated prednisone for 30 weeks. I was always starving while on pred and I stopped it at the end of the first trimester.

  4. I just love this update, especially about being released from her care! I bet you are one of her top success story patients!! ❀

Leave a Reply

