Week 28 Update – 3rd trimester!

How far along: 28 weeks, 4 days! I can’t believe I’m in the 3rd trimester! I’m so excited!! Mostly, it seems to be going fast! I’m making the most of every minute of it!

How big is baby: An eggplant. “Putting on layers of fat, baby now weighs in around 1.5 to 2.5 pounds and measures about 13.6 to 14.8 inches.”

week28Movement: I still have times where I don’t feel him as much, but it’s mostly everyday – more than once a day now!! πŸ˜€ It just depends on the day. Yesterday, I felt him move several times throughout the day! The movement really fascinates me. I’m always saying, “Whoa” and “Wow”! The stronger movements have only been occurring the past 2 weeks. It’s pretty crazy how my stomach jumps sometimes! I keep trying to get Andy to feel the stronger kicks/punches, but my sneaky little boy likes to stop moving whenever I call Andy over. πŸ˜‰

Weight Gain: 22 lbs total. I did really good in May! I only gained 4 lbs in the whole month, compared to my growth spurt in April where I gained twice that much. My OB was happy with my weight at my check up this past week.

Wedding ring on or off? I can actually still wear mine! I thought last week I was done, but they still fit! I’m just scared to wear them on hot days, since I get a little puffy.

Symptoms: Heartburn/reflux, increased fatigue, difficulty sleeping, and frequent urination. In the mornings, I suddenly can’t stand the smell of anything strong – whether it’s a good scent or bad one. I will gag. I’ve come really close to throwing up. It’s so funny because I never had that in the first trimester! It’s okay though. The feeling doesn’t last long, just in the mornings for the first hour or 2.

Food Cravings: All things cheese! I am loving cottage cheese and cream cheese especially. I have to watch my cheese craving though, or I won’t be able to go # 2 LOL. I also want to eat all summertime foods that you would have at a BBQ, like salad, watermelon, and potato salad. Yummy.

Emotions: Like I mentioned before, the tearful days kind of come and go. I had a couple of weeks of crying episodes, but I’m back on a more even keel now. I feel a lot better. The crying can come from any number of reasons, but it’s pretty much just hormones and nothing to be upset about. They might be happy tears, tears over nothing, tears from a sad commercial or tv show, tears because I forgot to do something, tears from being hungry or tired, tears from anxiety. I’m preparing Andy for having a baby who cries and you have to figure out why LOL!

Sleep: No bueno! I can’t lie on my back anymore – found that out yesterday the hard way. I took a nap and woke up gasping, coughing, and choking for air! It scared the crap out of me! It was never that bad before, up until yesterday. I’ve also been snoring and snorting a lot in my sleep. It’s definitely more difficult to get comfortable, and the reflux wakes me up at night. That stuff is gross!! It’s all for a great cause though!! πŸ™‚ I still love being pregnant. The rewards totally outweigh the discomforts.

Upcoming Appts/Other Updates: I had my glucose test (to check for Gestational Diabetes) this past Thursday! I won’t have the results until Monday. I hope I passed! I was nervous going into it, but it really wasn’t that bad at all. I had the orange flavored drink. It tasted extremely sweet, but kind of like orange soda. They make you guzzle it down in 5 minutes. Right after I drank it, I got all jittery and fidgety. About 30 minutes later, I felt pretty queasy and thought I was going to get sick. Thankfully, I did not. Then, they drew my blood 1 hour after drinking it. I didn’t feel sick anymore at that point, but I began to feel super tired and woozy. It was like being semi-drunk LOL! I felt weird the rest of the day. Overall, not a bad experience though!

P.S. One week from tomorrow (Sunday) are maternity photos! YAY! There’s a lot of exciting stuff coming up in June!!

Belly pic:

28weeks

And here’s a comparison of week 21 and week 28. I’m wearing the same shirt, and it’s not quite long enough anymore! πŸ™‚

Comparison21-28

5 thoughts on “Week 28 Update – 3rd trimester!

  1. I’ve been enjoying summer-y foods, too! Lunch for the past few days has had hardly a carb in sight — a BIG difference from what I ate earlier on.

    • Mmm, light foods are so good right now! I am the same way, a lot less carbs! It’s great too, because I’m gaining less weight πŸ™‚ My OB is happy.

  2. Aaahhh third trimester!! LIttle Graham is going to be here before you know it! I started snoring towards the end of my pregnancy also–it was so bad my hubby started sleeping in the other room lol

Leave a Reply

