Being off work so far

I’ve been off work for a month now and will continue to be off for the next 4 months of my pregnancy (plus, I’d like to have 3 months at home with my baby). I don’t have a job to return to, and I’m pondering not returning to the workforce at all. It will depend on how my back/bump/hips heal after giving birth, our financial state & adjustment to one income, whether or not I could find a job that would suit our schedules and limit costly childcare, or possibilities of making money from home (which I have a few ideas about).

At first, I was leery of having so much time on my hands. I’ve been a hard-worker ever since I graduated high school (and even before that actually). It’s an adjustment, but I’m learning to relax and enjoy it. πŸ™‚ I’m doing some light reading at the moment, just for fun. One book I finished recently was Belly Laughs by Jenny McCarthy. Gosh, she cracks me up! It’s refreshing to take a break from the “pregnancy and childbirth manuals”. I have yet to read one of those types of books and enjoy it or feel like I got anything out of it. If you know of any good ones, please let me know.

Luckily, my doctor said I can go out occasionally and do little things, as long as I don’t over-do it. He even approved me to take short walks – but I must go slow and easy. I’m allowed to do a few things around the house, so I feel somewhat productive. One thing that’s super nice is that I have more time to plan and work on things for baby’s arrival! Andy does most of the work. I make sure not to do any heavy lifting, repetitive bending, or be on my feet too much. It doesn’t take much for my pain to kick in, so I definitely know my limit. (Don’t worry). πŸ™‚

While I’m resting (which is the majority of the time), I’m keeping pretty busy by working on word puzzles, reading, writing in my pregnancy journal, blogging, spending time online with my groups and socializing, feeding my new addiction to the game Candy Crush Saga (LOL), relaxing, spending time with my furbabies, talking to friends and family on the phone or going out occasionally, and watching a lot of movies and TV series on Netflix.

I just finished all 7 seasons of the show, Supernatural. Now I need to catch up on the current season. I didn’t think I would like it at first, but it’s actually very entertaining. It doesn’t hurt that the 2 main characters are yummy eye candy. πŸ˜‰ Among other shows, I’m watching Downton Abbey (season 3) and Game of Thrones (season 2). I’ve already read all 5 books in the Game of Thrones series and am anxiously awaiting the next one to come out.

I have a few ideas in mind for new hobbies and projects to keep myself from getting bored. In addition to all of the above activities, I get to spend quality time with hubby and also bond with my baby! When Graham arrives, we’ll have lots of time together! So all in all, I’m feeling positive and things are good!

This is my new celeb crush πŸ˜‰ Jensen Ackles (Dean Winchester on Supernatural):

jensen-jensen-ackles-1685345-1200-791

18 thoughts on “Being off work so far

  1. Have you read, “What to Expect When You’re Expected: A Fetus’s Guide to the First Three Trimesters”? Okay, you won’t learn anything but it sure made me laugh while I was pregnant!

  2. Glad to hear you’re keeping yourself occupied! Enjoy it now. When I went on maternity leave I had this idea that I would get all kinds of stuff done, but once baby came, the entire day would pass and I wouldn’t have done anything but baby care! That, and staring at her a bit too… πŸ™‚

  3. I love books. Before Wade I read a book a week, now it is one a month. But, funny enough I didn’t read pregnancy books. I can assure you that on the job training is much different than anything you can read in a book. The one book that I do recommend is What to Expect in the First Year. I use it more as a reference if I question something that is happening to Wade. I have girlfriends who are so consumed with reading how to books that they don’t just spend time bonding with their child.

    I would suggest cleaning and organizing every last thing in your house, as well as packing a hospital bag by 30 weeks. After the baby comes your house will become a mess for the first couple months at least while you adjust. So happy for you sweetie! Just keep relaxing and spend some time pampering yourself … another thing that you won’t get much of after August πŸ˜‰

    • That’s so true. I definitely feel like I’ll learn more from doing than from reading. I’ll have to check that book out though! We are diligently working on organizing πŸ™‚ Thank you! πŸ™‚

  4. Hi Lisa, I am loving the new look. I am so glad that you are able to get out and about it and that you are having such a positive time during your enforced maternity leave. I don’t have a funny baby belly book for you but, whenever anyone mentions reading recommendations I have to tell them about Dark Matter by Michelle Paver. It is a beautiful ghost story and simply one of the best books I have ever read.

  5. I told you you’d like Supernatural! Now I just have to talk you into watching Buffy the Vampire Slayer on Netflix. If you ignore Sarah Michelle Gellar, you end up really liking the rest of the characters. Also, still waiting on you to watch Tucker and Dale vs Evil. πŸ™‚

  6. Sounds like you’re settling in awesomely! Glad you can do small things, that must be really nice. I recommend the book “The Magicians”. πŸ™‚ I just read the sequel now (lots of reading time while holding baby while she sleeps!).

  7. I’m so happy you are enjoying your time off!! It sounds like you are really enjoying it and making the most out of it πŸ™‚ I second Tara’s book suggestion–I read Girlfriend’s Guide to Pregnancy too and was practically rolling on the floor laughing!

Leave a Reply

