Week 24 Update – Viability!

How far along: 24 weeks, 1 day! Viability!! This means if my baby was born now, he would have a good chance of surviving outside of the womb. It looks like the statistics vary, but anywhere from 50-70% of babies born between 24-25 weeks will survive. The numbers have improved dramatically over the years. It’s pretty amazing, but scary. It’s an important milestone, and I feel so very grateful to have made it this far. I hope my little guy stays put for a very long time! 

How big is baby: A cantaloupe (that seems pretty big to me – yay!). “Your 10.5-to-11.8-inch fetus weighs about 12.7 to 20.8 ounces and every week he gets closer and closer to being ready to survive (and thrive!) in the outside world.”

week24What baby is doing: “At week 24, baby’s progress isn’t just about internal stuff, it’s about his looks too. With pinker, more opaque skin, he’s looking more and more, well, like a baby.”

Movement: In my previous weekly update, I reported that he was moving almost everyday…but right after that, I barely felt him for days! It’s normal for movement to vary though, based on baby’s position and wake/sleep cycles. I have felt him move and kick the past 2 days, which makes me very happy! 😀 The kicks are still not strong, but they are becoming more noticeable with every passing week! I still stop everything I’m doing and say, “Wow”, and get all excited whenever he’s doing something in there. So amazing.

Weight Gain: I have an OB appt tomorrow, so I’ll know then. I’m guessing 16 lbs, maybe.

Have you started to show yet? Granted, I haven’t been out much since being on bedrest, but I wanted to mention that I finally got asked if I was expecting by a stranger! Last week, I got my hair trimmed and my eyebrows waxed, and the hairdresser noticed right away! It was an exciting moment for me. 🙂

Food Cravings: I’ve had major cravings this whole pregnancy (minus the beginning, when I had no appetite). However, I’m barely craving anything at the moment! Lately, I’ve had indigestion issues, so my appetite is poor all of a sudden. I feel “full” a lot of the time – especially in the evenings.

What I am looking forward to: My maternity photos are scheduled for June 9th!!! I’ll be 2 days shy of 30 weeks. A sweet photographer friend from an online TTC forum is doing them for us! We live in the same state but haven’t met yet (even though we’ve “known” each other for years). Another good friend from the same forum might be able to join us, as well! I’m so excited! We’re doing the photos at a huge park with wildflowers, streams, rock gardens, and more. Also, my baby shower will be in June sometime! I still need to talk to my mom more about that. She’s been so busy. I cannot believe all that is happening NEXT MONTH!

Upcoming Appts/Other Updates: Everything is going so well – I couldn’t be happier! I feel pretty great!

–5/2/13: OB check up.

–5/16/13: MFM check up with ultrasound to check baby’s growth.

–5/28/13: 28 weeks – 3rd trimester! Holy moly!

–6/9/13: Maternity photos!

–6/??/13: Baby shower!

Belly pic: 🙂

24weeks

14 thoughts on “Week 24 Update – Viability!

  1. When I was Ttc for my 2nd child who was born July 2011 I posted on the tww forums in charting. When I came back to announce my bfp you were one of the first people to congratulate me. I read your bio and was so moved that you were so giving with your congrats when you were having such a difficult time. I have been stalking your blog since then waiting and hoping I would see your bfp.

    I have moved 2 times in the last 6 months and even to different country so I have not been on your blog since then. While browsing houzz today I saw a photo of a girl with curly hair and it reminded me that it was time to stalk you again:)

    I was so happy to see your baby bump and everyone is happy and healthy! I read some of your older posts and watched your video. It brought a joyful tear to my eye. I hope one of those other couples have a happy outcome like you. Enjoy every minute it goes fast! Take care and Congratulations!!!!!!

  2. Sounds like an exciting few weeks coming up!!! Enjoy 🙂 Bump looks great…very clearly a baby bump!!!

  3. You look great. Hooray for viability! Enjoy those kicks, rolls and other various movements – so much fun to feel them!

  4. Yay for viability. I know you know this, but you are one lucky lady. Although I am sure it is not all luck, I think your hard work and determination also may have had something to do with your current happy situation. How very exciting that you are having a maternity shoot – very, very exciting indeed.

  5. Yaaayyy for viability!! And a canteloupe-sized baby is quite large lol. Your belly is really out there now–you look so beautiful!!

  6. Hi Lisa, just to say I hope everything is going well for you – not long to go now! I’m 24 weeks today, excited to think I’ve reached this milestone… didn’t think it would happen for me. You look brill, keep us all posted about how you’re getting on! 🙂

Leave a Reply

