Week 23 Update

How far along: 23 weeks, 1 day!

How big is baby: A grapefruit. “About 10.5 to 11.8 inches and about 12.7 to 20.8 ounces.”

week23What baby is doing: “Baby can listen to your voice and your heartbeat — and even to loud sounds like cars honking and dogs barking at this stage. His face is fully formed now — he just needs a little extra fat to fill it out.”

Movement: I’m so excited!! I have felt him move or kick (a little bit) almost everyday for the past 8 days! The best part is, I felt him on the outside for the first time ever Monday night (22 weeks, 6 days)!! It happened too quickly for me to yell for Andy. I’m not sure he would have felt anything yet (it was light), but hopefully soon! The kicks feel more like little thumps now, instead of the light taps or “bubbles” that they used to be. The movements and rolling feel more noticeable, as well! I can feel things even when I’m not paying super close attention!

Weight Gain: I think I’m up around 13 lbs total, which is just fine.

Symptoms: Heartburn, reflux, and frequent urination are the main symptoms. I have a new symptom though – I’m pretty sure I have Restless Leg Syndrome. When I’m lying down, my legs get sore and achy, and it feels like I need to keep moving them around and stretching. I don’t have a “creepy-crawly” sensation that some describe, but there is a weird uncomfortable feeling. It’s not bothering too much right now. I’m going to let my OB know at my appt next week. Sometimes low iron can cause it, but often times it’s just something you get in pregnancy.

Food Cravings: Salad and chicken! I’m also still craving sweets! There’s these new “chewy” Jolly Ranchers that come in a bag with just Green Apple and Watermelon flavors…Sour and sweet is such a yummy combo! I also have a thing for Vanilla Cream Soda….Mmmm. I can’t let myself have too much of that junk though. LOL!

Emotions: Kind of up and down this past week. I usually have a “tearful” week every now and then, especially when something stressful pops up.

Sleep: Only getting about 5 hours each night. I don’t necessarily feel that uncomfortable, I just get restless. I am continuing to rest (still on modified bed-rest), and I take naps sometimes. I don’t feel like I need as much sleep for some reason.

Best moment this week: Feeling my baby boy move from the outside!!! I’m so thankful for that & everything!

Worst moment of the week: Losing my job. (If you missed it, you can read my post about that by clicking here). Update: The policy they have won’t allow for all the time I need off, so I am resigning. This is my last week of Short-Term Disability pay, which they will let me have. I am comfortable with resigning. I don’t want to try to fight it or stress out about it. I’m happy to be at home to rest & recuperate with my back/bum pain, and I can better take care of myself and my baby.

What I am looking forward to: I think what I’m most excited about is that we’ll be working on the nursery soon!! And getting more things done around the house (with Andy’s help of course, since I’m supposed to take it easy)! πŸ™‚

Upcoming Appts/Other Updates:

–4/30/13: 24 weeks – Viability!!

–5/2/13: Next OB check up.

–5/16/13: Next MFM check up and growth scan.

Belly pic: πŸ™‚

23weeks

22 thoughts on “Week 23 Update

  1. All of this info is so wonderful to read (minus the job part!). How awesome that his movement is getting bigger and easier to feel. I’m excited for Andy to feel him from the outside!! I’m so sorry about the work situation, but I know you’re doing the right thing. I admire your positivity- for you and the baby. It’s the right thing, even if it isn’t the easiest.

  2. So close to viability — exciting! It’s funny that you’ve been craving sweets with a boy, and I’ve been all about salty stuff and am having a girl. The old wives got it wrong this time!

  3. You look absolutely fabulous!!! I’m so happy you’re feeling your little guy move – isn’t that the best feeling in the world? Enjoy it now while it’s still fun. When they get a little bigger, it starts to get painful! πŸ™‚

  4. I remember the first time my hubby felt Wade kick in my belly. It was a priceless moment … one we will both treasure forever. Keep enjoying every minute my dear … you so deserve this πŸ™‚

  5. You are looking great. August will be here before you know it. I am sure you don’t need reminding, but enjoy every second of your pregnancy! Sorry you had to resign in the end. It will be great to get spend extra time preparing for your little boy though.

  6. Wow, look at that belly grow!! Looks so lovely and round now, all like a proper pregnant lady. πŸ™‚ Also, I totally feel your cream soda addiction — I’ve been trying to buy more “natural” brands, which don’t have a lot of HFCS and artificial colour, and have even attempted to make my own, using our Sodastream (makes water fizzy) and then making simple syrup (sugar, water and vanilla extract). Not quite the same, but close enough!

  7. You look great! So cute. I’m sorry about your job, but you did the best you could and don’t have any choice – and I think it is very wise to be extra cautious and stay home and take care of you and baby! That’s the most important thing!

  8. You look great with your baby bump! Im glad that you are happy and able to rest and relax at home! Enjoy all of your time! ❀

  9. Lisa that is horrible about your job..but you are such a great person, you will have another job just like that again soon…but most of all the best job in the World, being a Mom..hope you feel better soon!!

Leave a Reply

