Being productive and finally using our 2nd bedroom for a nursery

21 weeks, 6 days!

We have been very productive the past 2 weekends! I feel a strong urge to re-organize, rearrange, clean, get ready for baby, and get things done around the house. Of course, I can’t do much with my back/bum issue, but Andy has been a huge help. He’s so motivated – it’s adorable. πŸ™‚ I appreciate him so much.

2 weekends ago, we cleaned out our huge storage closet downstairs. It used to be nice and organized, but I don’t know what the heck happened haha! You know how it is. But it looks way better now.

This past weekend, we cleared out the 2nd bedroom – AKA the nursery!! Yay!! We weren’t using the room for anything specific, so it was basically overflow for our stuff. Andy’s brother came over to help move a large dresser out of there and into our bedroom. We ended up having to rearrange our bedroom furniture, since we have a huge California king-sized bed. I was worried things would be too scrunched, but thankfully it looks good. Andy had been using the closet in the 2nd bedroom for all of his clothes, and I have a closet of my own in our bedroom. We moved all of his clothes and things from the 2nd bedroom closet into the large dresser in our bedroom, which was quite a task. I tell you, Andy has more clothes and shoes than I do! LOL! What is up with that!

We tossed out some junk and clutter, as well. It always feels nice to donate or get rid of stuff we never use. Andy likes to keep everything, and I like to purge! We have a few more things to toss out that we didn’t get to yet. We also cleaned and rearranged all of the kitchen cabinets!! I don’t think I’ve done that the whole time we’ve lived here. LOL. Every time I look at something in the house, I want to move it or clean it. I have more projects in mind. I’ve never felt like this before! It feels good to be motivated and to accomplish so much though! It’s just been us and the cats for so long that it feels strange to consolidate, toss, and merge everything – but it’s for our baby! πŸ˜€ I’m excited!

The next major projects would be to clean the nursery thoroughly – wash walls and carpet and paint! I’m not sure when we’re going to do that, but I can hardly wait! I will do another post soon about the colors we like and what baby stuff we have so far (which is almost nothing right now LOL). We have plenty of time though.

After the nursery was cleared out, I stood there for awhile and imagined what it could look like. It made everything seem even more real. I thought about all the times I dreamed of using it as a nursery, but never thought I’d be able to. I cried. It’s a dream come true. I am in such awe of this new journey we’re embarking upon.

16 thoughts on “Being productive and finally using our 2nd bedroom for a nursery

  1. When I moved into my current house, I knew the bedroom next to mine would by the baby’s room — some day. So, luckily, it’s painted just right, but it’s not quite ready to go. Like yours, the room has become a catch all area, and all the furniture that will eventually go in there is in my other house, which I’m packing up right now, so I can be done with it, once and for all.

  2. The nesting urge has hit! πŸ™‚ You go girl! (and Andy!) I love what you said about being able to visualize the room and it seeming more real. I’m so glad for you.

  3. Yay! Isn’t it fun to FINALLY have a nursery? Hooray! Good luck with painting and decorating – so much fun! πŸ™‚

  4. Oh, I can’t wait to see your finished nursery! I just don’t even know where to begin with that stuff — like, how do you know exactly what you need to buy? I’m hoping to turn one of our rooms into a nursery/office combo, and the challenge of that is weighing heavily on me. My hubby, for instance, says it’s too dangerous to have a bookshelf near a crib, but it’s secured to the wall and I need that damn bookshelf to do my work! Argh… I admire your focus and ability to foresee what your finished room will look like. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you!! It will come to you in time. It’s a little overwhelming at first, but I’m sure you guys will figure out the perfect space combination πŸ™‚

  5. Aahh the nursery is so much fun! I can’t wait to see what colors/theme you decide on! I know how you feel about Andy keeping stuff and you purging–me and my hubby are exactly the same way. A lot of times I throw things out without telling him and I can honestly tell you not once has he ever noticed!

Leave a Reply

