Movement!

20 weeks, 5 days today!

I talked a little about this in my 20 week update post. It is such an exciting milestone, so I wanted to dedicate a post to movement!

Now that I know what tiny baby kicks feel like, I’m pretty sure I felt my baby before. Possibly weeks 13/14, 16, 17, and 19 – although, the first few might not have been. It’s a strange/foreign feeling, and it’s very gentle/light at first. So, especially as a first timer, I didn’t know what it was. I kept thinking it was gas or my imagination. It was totally sporadic and random. I had only felt him maybe once a week – if that. I’ve learned not all ladies feel their babies everyday, especially at first.

Part of it depends on baby’s position. I have an anterior placenta, which means my placenta is in front of the baby, nearest to my belly. It’s like a big pillow. As you can imagine, that blocks a lot of the feeling. When he’s in a better spot (like legs or arms reaching towards the left or right side of my belly), it’s easier to feel him. If he’s just snuggled up in the middle next to the placenta, it’s more difficult.

Last Monday (19 weeks, 6 days), I definitely felt him kick and move!! He was hanging out towards the left of my belly. The sensations felt like bubbles popping underneath the surface of my belly, as well as light taps. It even tickled a little bit, like he was touching me. The bubble sensations are different than gas, but that used to be difficult to distinguish until he got bigger. I had to feel something stronger in order to believe it. πŸ™‚ So exciting!!!

Tuesday (20 weeks), I felt an even stranger/stronger sensation! It had to be him rolling around and changing positions! I felt him move away from my left side and down into my lower abdomen – realllly low, on top of my bladder. Whoa, seriously weird (but awesome)! He was kicking (and/or punching?) me, too! I loooved it! There was no denying that movement!! It was like he was saying, “Hi mom, I’m really here!” πŸ˜€

I didn’t feel him for the rest of the week, but that didn’t worry me. I have been resting and staying very calm and still all week – for my back/bum issues. So finally yesterday (20 weeks, 4 days), I was up and doing things around the house. My movement got him moving! I can tell he is still down wayyyy low. It feels really scrunched in there! I thought he was trying to claw his way out LOL! He was rolling, wiggling, and kicking/punching! It even hurt a few times LOL! Not a bad pain, just like little sharp jabs as if he hit a nerve – it’s hard to explain. I actually liked that it hurt (I’m weird), because I was so excited and shocked that I could feel him that strongly! πŸ˜€ He’s growing a lot right now!

Each of those times – Monday, Tuesday, and Saturday – I sat there and cried. I felt such amazement, joy, disbelief, pride, love, gratefulness, excitement, and a stronger bond with my little boy. I feel more like a mom now. I can’t contain myself! I just can’t believe I’m experiencing this. I’m so lucky. I always dreamed and tried to imagine what this would feel like, but I never truly imagined that it would happen for me. I wish I could help make all my friends’ dreams come true, too. Anytime something exciting happens for me, a piece in my heart breaks for my friends that are still waiting. I want it so badly for you, I believe it will happen for you all, and it will make your journey worthwhile. β™₯You guys are always in my thoughts & prayers. β™₯ xoxo

21 thoughts on “Movement!

  1. There are not enough words to express just how happy I am for you and that you’re feeling your little dude in there moving!!
    So happy for you πŸ˜€

  2. I get so excited for your posts…I practically bounce in my seat…yes I know I am a weirdo lol. Great post and sooooo thrilled for you that you are getting to experience all this.

  3. Yay! Movement is so amazing no matter what! Remember these soft kicks and punches when baby gets to the end and your belly is really a punching bag πŸ™‚ wouldn’t trade it for the world!

  4. Leave it to you to think about those of us who aren’t pregnant during such a happy time. You are the sweetest pregnant woman I know. Although it does sting when anyone gets pregnant, I am truly happy to read each and every post about you and Graham. You will never forget where you came from and those of us who are still waiting. When it’s my turn, I am going to try to remember just as you have. Sooo happy for you!

    • Aww thank you Lyndsey! You’re so sweet. I just can’t help but remember my infertile sisters and hope and pray for you all to get your miracles soon.

  5. Movement is awesome! Even when you are huge and uncomfortable, movement is still amazing. I ALWAYS had my hands on my stomach…I loved the feeling.

  6. How wonderful to feel movement. You are so sweet and really an incredible woman to think of those still in the trenches even as you experience the happiness you have worked so hard for! I hope everyone out there gets their baby wish, too, and like you I believe it will happen for us all!!!

  7. Cool! You must be loving this — now make sure you don’t get too nervous whenever you DON’T feel the baby moving (always a double-edged sword in pregnancy, isn’t there?). πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

