Pets going crazy during pregnancy?

I have 3 kitties, and they have been acting a lot different since I got pregnant! Particularly Maya, which I will save for last. I have always given them tons of love and attention. Lately, our play routine has been kind of messed up, since I haven’t been able to do much with my back/bum pain. That could be a part of it. I’m going to at least get the laser pointer out and let them run around chasing that.

But this has been gradually happening ever since I found out I was pregnant. Isn’t that funny! I’m not sure what to do! Have any of you experienced personality/behavior changes with your pets? What did you do, and did things improve? I feel bad because it’s been just me and them for so long. Do you worry about the adjustment when the baby comes?

I think I need Jackson Galaxy, cat behaviorist, from that animal planet show (My Cat From Hell) to help me out. πŸ˜‰ He’s awesome.

Real-Men

I have 3 kitties, and 2 of them (Maya and Chloe) are my sweet little cuddle bugs. They’re more like dogs, with the way they show affection and want attention. Both Maya and Chloe want to be with me at all times. I’m not complaining because I absolutely adore my furbabies. They are my babies!! I like to snuggle them and spend lots of time with them. They are wanting even more attention now that I’m pregnant though. I worry that they will feel neglected when the baby comes. 😦

Everyday - lying on me on the couch :-)

Chloe and Maya – lying on top of me on the couch, everyday, which are some of my favorite moments πŸ™‚

The funny thing about Juniper (my oldest, age 6) – she’s always been kind of mean to me or ignores me, but she’s been a little nicer since I found out I was pregnant! Strange, but definitely a plus! πŸ™‚ I just hope she doesn’t go back to being mean when the baby comes.

One of my few photos of Juniper. She's pretty skittish.

One of my few photos of Juniper. She’s pretty skittish.

Chloe (my youngest, age 3) is getting kinda ornery! She’s starting to get into things she’s not supposed to and tearing up toilet paper! Maya and Chloe often conspire together to start trouble. I think Maya is a bad influence on her. πŸ˜‰ I’m not too worried about Chloe’s behavior at the moment, but I’m keeping an eye on it. It’s unusual because she is my laid-back kitty. She’s usually so peaceful and lazy, unless I’m playing with her.

Chloe, can't stay mad at that face :-)

Chloe, can’t stay mad at that face πŸ™‚

Finally, Maya (the middle child, age 4). She is the problem child, and I hate to say that because she’s so sweet. One thing she does – and it’s gotten worse – is lick me constantly! It’s like a lick attack, and she won’t stop! I swear she has OCD. She was always well-behaved in the past, but lately she’s picking things out of the trash (she likes little pieces of paper or wrappers), digging in the garbage disposal, grabbing things off of the coffee table, pulling the magnets and papers off of the refrigerator constantly, and picking at a patch of plaster on our kitchen ceiling from where a leak was patched up. (She can reach the ceiling because there’s a gap between our kitchen cabinets and the ceiling, which apparently is a cool place for cats to hang out). Everyday I find tons of tiny plaster pieces on the stove and surrounding areas. I hope she’s not eating any of it!! And those are just a few things she does.

Now, I know kitties can be ornery and playful – and that’s totally fine. It’s just a big change! They weren’t like this before! I wonder if I should be concerned? Mostly about Maya, since her behavior is somewhat strange and obsessive at times. Can animals have OCD? I think they can, right? If so, I’m not sure what to do about it. I have OCD (and anxiety), and it’s a very uncomfortable disorder to have. I can imagine Maya must feel restless and anxious, and that makes me sad! I want to get her feeling better and back on track before the baby comes. My poor kitty.

Maya - too cute to be mad at

Maya – too cute to be mad at!

11 thoughts on “Pets going crazy during pregnancy?

  1. Hmmm, like you don’t have enough on your plate…lol I too have kitties, Tiffany (Tiffy) my oldest at 8 years, was always my cuddle bug, when I was pregnant, it was like she was scared of me, wouldn’t cuddle or nothing until the later part of my pregnancy. Now she can’t get enough of me, it is like she is starving for attention with Shaelyn (also could be a result of 3 months without us due to Shaelyn’s Heart Transplant and hospitalization)to the point of having to be on me at the same time Shaelyn is, including during her bottle feedings. My other kitty Joey, was never the cuddler, but now he is, both of them are now mommy’s babies. They both LOVE Shaelyn to pieces and even tolerate her grasping them and actually I will find them laying near her when she is on the floor, just outside of her reach area. I am so lucky they tolerate her and I guess during my pregnancy I would always rough them up a bit by pulling their ears, tail grabbing their fur (just like a baby would do) to prep them for this stage. I praised them when they would verbally cry or groan, but discipline them when they would bite or scratch me, it didn’t take them long to catch on and I don’t have a problem as of yet, but Shaelyn isn’t mobile yet. I always say I have 4 babies, Shaelyn, DH and my 2 fur babies, all of them craving my undivided attention, ugh, can be stressful some days, I live for bubble baths now, although Tiffy still hangs out with me….lol. As for getting into things, cats are devious, and I believe they always will be.

    • That is really interesting! Thank you for sharing your experiences. It’s crazy how cats personalities are so different and how much they can change with a new addition. That’s true – haha, cats are pretty devious πŸ™‚

  2. Our cat started pooping and peeing everywhere when I got pregnant. He still does it now and it drives us crazy. Nothing worse than trying to get rid of cat pee smell.
    Guess some cats just don’t like it when their slaves do things without their approval.

  3. One of my cats is pretty flighty, and she started holding a grudge against me when I adopted a puppy in October. She was never SUPER cuddly, but she really didn’t want much to do with me once there was a new puppy at my side all the time. It was probably just a coincidence, but a few days before I got my BFP, she came over and sat on my lap for the first time in AGES, and she’s been much friendlier ever since then and will cuddle every so often. Maybe it was just the timing (with enough months having passed for her to relax about the puppy), but maybe she sensed some sort of change in my body that she liked.

    I have four pets total — two cats, two chihuahuas — and I’m intensely curious to find out how they’ll react to having a baby around (I’m due in October). They all have very different personalities — I know my one cat is going to LOVE having another warm body to cuddle, and I bet the puppy will be a great sidekick once the baby is old enough to interact. The other two are wildcards. (Luckily both chihuahuas are sweet and gentle, and I’m not at all worried about biting.) I’ll just have to wait and find out!

    • Wow, that’s interesting! Thanks for commenting, and congrats on your pregnancy! I hope all your animals adjust well to the baby πŸ™‚

  4. I don’t remember how my cats acted when I was preggo…but we did have weird acting out behaviours after my twins were born. I think the cats were feeling neglected, and we had also moved. We actually had two cats that started fighting. DH and I were so busy/caught up in the twins that our cats unfortunately were very neglected. However, they are fine now, and great with the kids (even our shyest cat, has become very brave with my boys!)

  5. My cat always becomes more affectionate when I’m pregnant. She almost never sleeps near me at night but when I’m pregnant she snuggles right up beside me, close to my belly if she can. It’s so funny and sweet. When our daughter was a newborn the cat was very protective of her and stayed nearby – sometimes just lying on the very corner of the blanket my daughter was on, or somewhere that she could keep an eye on her. She doesn’t really love her now that she’s a two-year-old, but at least she tolerates her. πŸ™‚

    • That’s neat! Animals are pretty amazing. I think my cats might just hide from the baby if they are unsure, so that’ll work. πŸ™‚

  6. LOL this post is so funny–I love that cat from hell show!! I watch the marathon runs of it all the time! Although I hope your kitties start going back to normal soon–I def think pregnancy can affect pets. My dog changed while I was pregnant too–not in an active/destructive way but he became more mopey and depressed (its as if he knew a big change was about to occur).

Leave a Reply

