Update on spot & I – Week 16

How far along: 16 weeks, 2 days!

Baby size: An avocado! “Now, he/she’s about 4.6 inches long and weighs about 3.5 ounces, and he/she’s big enough that your doctor may be able to hear his/her heartbeat.”

A week ago today, spot was already 4 oz at our gender scan! Go spot!

  • He/she’s listening to your voice, thanks to tiny bones forming in his/her ears.
  • He/she’s growing hair, lashes and eyebrows.
  • And he/she’s forming taste buds.

week16Symptoms: Pretty much the same as they have been. Nothing too noticeable. I will say, sex is getting a bit awkward! LOL. We have been trying the spooning position lately. I’m not that big yet, but my boobs and belly are getting in the way. It’s strange! I love my boobs and belly though. πŸ™‚

Food Craving:Β Shrimp! And wings! Anything with meat. I have a very carnivorous appetite at the moment. My iron levels are great.

Emotions: Great! I’m still more sensitive than usual, but that comes with the territory. My mood is really good most of the time though. I wanted to add that things seem a lot more real now that we know the gender, but it still feels crazy and it blows my mind that this is happening! It’s a miracle everyday! I’m sooo sooo in love and still so grateful all the time.

Weight: Still holding steady at 3-4lbs. It feels like it should be more than that, but things are just shifting around I think.

Something I’ve done to prepare for baby’s arrival: Andy’s Dad is looking for baby stuff for us and for him to keep at his house. He is so cute and excited. He goes to sales and auctions looking for nice things. We haven’t bought anything or started on household projects, but my registry is pretty much complete now!

What I am most excited about: The big gender reveal this Saturday the 9th! I can’t wait for our families to get together. I haven’t seen my family since the holidays. It will be so fun and also emotional to see their reactions! I can’t wait to tell you all, too!!!! Also, I can find the heart beat on the doppler more easily now! Yay! Best sound in the world!!

Upcoming appts: OB check up & labs today, going back to the private ultrasound place on the 12th for more photos and to finalize the DVD (spot wasn’t super cooperative hehe), and Anatomy/Growth scan on the 21st!

Belly pic: I think I shrunk a little this week, LOL. I feel like I’m popping out more, but the shape is changing as I go along.

DSC06888_zps6a5985de

15 thoughts on “Update on spot & I – Week 16

    • It’s a sonoline B from Amazon.com that a friend gave me. It works great! I personally couldn’t find the heartbeat until 13-14 weeks. Mostly because I have an anterior placenta.

  1. Looking good! I remember around 16/17 weeks commenting that I thought my belly disappeared. The next week: BAM! I totally popped and everyone was noticing my belly. Anyway, hope everything goes well on Sat. Can’t wait to hear about it!! So exciting!

  2. That’s exciting you find out the gender in a few days!!! Or do you already know but that’s when you are having your reveal party? When are you going to announce it on your blog!?! I’m excited to find out πŸ™‚

    XOXO

  3. Looking beautiful as ever Lisa. Go Spot Go!!! Can’t wait to hear all about your Gender Reveal Party, sounds like it is going to be awesome. You sure have amazing strength to keep it quiet, lol, I never had that strength, I had to spill the beans right away…LOL Congrats on finding out Spot’s Gender and isn’t it nice to call baby by the name you have chosen? Well done Girl!!!

  4. So funny that you’re craving shrimp — what a random craving! Makes sense that your body would be needing lots of iron, though. Can’t wait for the online version of the gender reveal party (on Monday, perhaps?)!

  5. Yay! I am so excited to hear about how the party goes tomorrow and of course, find out the gender!!! And totally random, but your hair has been super cute in the belly shots the last couple weeks. Did you get it cut again and I am just now noticing?? I have always been jealous of your hair lol.

  6. Hi! I found my way here from TWW. You look fabulous! Glad that pregnancy is treating you well. Enjoy the party this weekend! πŸ™‚

  7. Just want to say Congratulations!!
    I know of you from TWW and have been following your story. I did get pregnant and my daughter is 8 weeks old.
    I’m so happy for you, it sounds like you have been through so much. This baby is so wanted and will be so loved πŸ™‚
    Enjoy every minute, you seem like such a positive person, I wish you all the best.

  8. You are so lucky you are craving meat! I hated it so much throughout the first and second trimesters and it contributed to my anemia 😦 Don’t worry about not gaining too much weight–some people just dont gain much while they are pregnant and you know your little guy is doing well in there (plus you will have a lot less to lose at the end)!

Leave a Reply

