Gender predictors and thoughts on gender reveal party

Time for some fun stuff! We are thinking about having a “gender reveal party” once we find out the gender for real (which could be this month)! I don’t know much about them yet, but they seem like a really cute and fun idea. I want to do everything (silly or important) and experience little thing I possibly can. It still amazes me and boggles my mind that I am pregnant, and I can actually do these things. I never thought I would be here! I am so grateful everyday!

Now, I know some people have the gender placed in an envelope and not find out until the actual reveal at the party (finding out by cutting a cake and seeing pink or blue inside). I would love to do that, but I know I can’t wait! LOL! Andy is excited to find out, too. My mom laughed at me, and said she knows there’s no way I could not find out ahead of time. πŸ™‚ Also, if Andy and I find out together – it would be a really special and emotional moment just for the two of us, too.

So, I’m thinking he and I will find out and keep it a secret until we can get together with our family and friends. That means not telling you guys! That’s going to be sooo hard. Sorry guys! Some of my family and friends in real life follow along on my blog and Facebook page. I don’t want to ruin the surprise for them (and some might blab, lol).

I can have everything planned and ready to go (for the most part) ahead of time – as far as what games and party favors we want. All we would need is the pink or blue cake and an actual date for the party. My mom said she would help. At least with Andy & I knowing, we can have everything set. Who would do the cake if nobody knows? Do you just give the envelope to the baker?

We don’t have an actual date for a gender scan. I get weekly ultrasounds, so we’re bound to find out soon. Unless I tell them not to tell me until a certain week – or – go get a private scan ourselves when we know for sure want to find out (that would cost extra money though). We could plan to try to find out the gender at 15 weeks, 1 day (Wednesday 2/27), and then plan the party for that Saturday, March 2nd. I think we can handle about 2 days without telling anyone, lol. But watch – baby won’t cooperate, and we won’t be able to see “the goods”! However, with all the other ultrasounds, I think my docs will know.

I know we still want to do the cake. It will be fun for our family, even though we’ll already know the answer. I’m not sure what types of games or party favors we need. I’ll look on pinterest. If you have any ideas on any of this stuff, please let me know! πŸ™‚ I’m sooo excited!!! Fun, fun!

Here is my little video on my “gender predictors” so far. I know they aren’t for real, but it’s fun to see what results come up. πŸ˜€

I re-did the baking soda test because I wasn’t sure if I did it right…

11 thoughts on “Gender predictors and thoughts on gender reveal party

  1. I remember doing that baking soda one and not really being able to tell. It kinda fizzed like a flat soda but nothing more than that and well, I have a girl so *shrugs*
    Anywho, can’t wait to see what ideas you do for the reveal party!! I’ll impatiently wait to hear if little Spot is a he or she πŸ™‚

  2. How fun! I think you should plan the party a little later just in case you don’t know yet. Maybe 17-18 weeks.

    Or you could find out about having the Materniti21 test. It’s a test that checks for the major trisomies and will also look for the absence or presence of a Y chromosome. It’s a non-invasive blood test. I know a lot of people who are doing that since it became available last summer.

  3. We had a cake for Matt’s family and cupcakes for my side. I had intentions of doing them all together but I had family come home unexpectedly and ended up making the cupcakes so when you bit into them they had pink in the middle. The cake was the same way we had a cow on it and I think it said He or She Cut to See and the cake was pink. The nieces and nephews loved it! My guess is boy!

  4. OOOH I am so excited for you. That is how my baking soda test went, I did it a couple of times too and I had a Girl as it hardly fizzed. I’ve seen some that have really fizzed and they had boys. Although to tell for sure is to find out by ultrasound or of course the birth, but I don’t think I could wait that long, you have me locked in. This is almost as exciting as my own pregnancy…lol!!! Loving it and you of course. πŸ™‚

  5. I went to a gender reveal party that did a little twist on the revealing part. Instead of a cake, they went and bought a pinata. They didn’t know the gender, but gave the envelope to a neighbor and had them go buy pink or blue candies to fill the pinata. At the party, they divided the group up, males against females and took turns hitting the pinata. Once it broke open, pink candy went flying every where! You should get creative on how to do your party…sometimes it seems the cake idea is a little over done! Whichever you decide though, will be so special.

    I remember the day we found out our son was going to be a boy. I had a gut feeling from 8 weeks on that it would be a boy but DH wanted a girl. We were in the ultrasound room and she was getting all her measurements. She was down by the pelvis and I said. “so is it a boy or a girl?” And she was like, well I don’t know, do you want to know, and of course I was like well duh! After a few more minutes, she found the parts, turned the screen towards us and asked what we thought. DH had no clue but I had seen so many ultrasound posts on TWW, and there was no denying it…it was all boy! When we were done, I almost hugged the technician. That was one of the happiest days of my life!

  6. I loooove the idea of a gender reveal party! Although I think you and andy should def find out beforehand bc it is a very special moment for the two of you that shouldn’t involve everyone else (plus it’ll help with the party planning!). One friend had a picture of the sonogram and had people guess by looking at it if it was a boy or a girl–that might be fun! Either way don’t keep us in the dark too long–i hope you can time it out just the way you planned!

  7. We find out the gender soon too! I can’t wait, and I know I will want to find out in the ultrasound room – not wait until later – I’ve been waiting too long already! But a gender reveal party would be fun… but I might not be able to wait for that either πŸ™‚

    XOXO

Leave a Reply

