10 weeks! Some drama and baby progress update.

I’ve been very lucky to have a relatively drama-free pregnancy so far. I just had a couple days worth of worry though. Monday afternoon, Dr. Kwak-Kim’s nurse called with my immune panel results. I wasn’t expecting them back so fast. The news wasn’t good, and Dr. KK was concerned. My Natural Kills Cells are quite elevated, as well as my Cytokines. These labs indicate a high level of inflammation in my body, which can sometimes lead to miscarriage. It all has to do with my autoimmune disorder and my body attacking itself (and the baby). I’m praying a couple bad lab results don’t amount to anything, but of course I am concerned.

Dr. KK increased my Prednisone (steroids) and will re-check those 2 labs in 2 weeks. All we can do is hope for the best. I’m sure there would be more changes if they are still high at my next check. One step at a time. I was shocked and upset at first. I thought my medications were helping calm the immune response. It’s so disappointing to have my body betray me so often. I’m worried about my baby spot. I just can’t come this far and lose my baby now. I’m trying to stay positive though. Immune issues are NOT the end all, be all. If they were, I wouldn’t even be pregnant. Worrying will not change the outcome. I’m so glad we now know what’s going on, so we can hopefully fix it.

So then Tuesday, I had my mind made up that I was getting an ultrasound that day. I didn’t have one last week, Dr. Kwak-Kim had just reiterated the day before that I need to have them every week (still), and I needed to do it for my own peace of mind. I was pretty sure they wouldn’t do one at my first OB appointment this coming Thursday. I called my old RE’s office Tuesday morning, sure that they would help me out. BUT NO. They said they would only see me if I was having symptoms of a miscarriage. I cried on the phone because I was frustrated, surprised, and already emotional about my test results. I thought it was pretty crappy of them not to see me considering my history and diagnoses, plus Dr. KK’s orders. I felt brushed off, which is never a nice feeling.

Anyway, I am much closer to sorting things out – ultrasound-wise. I called my new OB’s office yesterday afternoon and spoke with the nurse. She said I am NOT scheduled for an ultrasound this Thursday. I figured that was the case. I then explained my issues and told her about my immunologist, and I said I could have Dr. KK fax an order if that would help. She wouldn’t give me a definite answer, but she said to go ahead and have her fax an order and that my OB would do an ultrasound if she thought it was needed. I had trouble in the past finding a doctor to work with Dr. KK. Why must they make it so difficult?! I feel like this will be all settled soon,Β but if not, I will find a new doctor. I really need some reasurrance tomorrow at my appointment after all this crap.

Other than that, I’m doing very well & I have no complaints. My symptoms are still barely there – or I’m not bothered by them anyway. I sure pee a lot these days! I’m soooo happy and grateful everyday. I cannot believe I am 10 weeks – double digits!! A friend sent me her doppler, but I haven’t been able to locate the heartbeat yet. I can’t wait until I can hear it at home. πŸ™‚ Once I get through tomorrow and have my appointment, I will feel a lot better. I feel pretty calm, and logically I know everything is probably okay – it’s just emotionally I feel on edge.

I will post my belly pic probably tomorrow and also a GOOD update from my appointment (hopefully)! It is at 1:30pm EST Thursday.

Spot is a prune this week! πŸ™‚ “Now, he/she’s about 1.2 inches long and weighs about .14 ounces. His/Her body length will almost double in the next three weeks.”

  • Baby has working arm joints, and his/her cartilage and bones are forming.
  • His/Her vital organs are fully developed and they’re starting to function.
  • His/Her fingernails and hair are starting to appear, too.
  • Plus, he/she’s swallowing and kicking in there. (Can you believe it?!)

week10

30 thoughts on “10 weeks! Some drama and baby progress update.

  1. Ellie stayed super low early in pregnancy and they could always find her heartbeat along my bikini line.

    I do hope that your OB will cooperate along with your RE. I had met my OB at a church event before becoming pregnant. At my first appointment (at 12 weeks) he did an ultrasound because it was my first appointment away from the fertility clinic. He was afraid that I would leave upset, being that I had seen baby weekly for so long. I do think it’s important to find an OB who understands your fertility history.

    Now that I’m much further along they treat me much the same as other pregnant patients, but they know that we’ve come such a long way.

  2. I always look forward to your weekly post updates. I’m so excited for you Lisa!! I can’t wait till I’m able to share my ‘PG’ stories. I just had a trigger Monday, and I had one 2.28 size follicle on my left side. I’m praying this is the one!! I’m rooting for you and baby spot, sugar!!

  3. I didn’t find the HB until I think 13w, and even then it was difficult. When you’re trying to find it, go A LOT lower than you think you should.
    And remember, baby’s heartbeat will sound fast and like a horse galloping. Placenta will have a whooshing sort of sound to it.

    Anywho, that sucks about the RE refusing to give you an u/s 😦 Hope your OB will at least do one for you.

  4. Those home dopplers usually don’t work early one, and especially not if you don’t have that gel stuff to help it along. Hopefully you will be able to find a doc willing to make your life a little easier and set you nerves to rest!

    • Yeah, I figured I wouldn’t be able to find it yet but I’ll keep trying πŸ™‚ The girl who sent it said to use Aloe gel, and it works okay. Thank you!!

  5. Please be careful when using that doppler and don’t use it too often. When I was pregnant I was strongly urged not to use one. 1) it is often difficult to find the heartbeat early on. The home dopplers are not the same as the ones your doctor uses. 2) the radio waves can create heat in the womb and that just isn’t good for your baby. Same thing with excess ultrasounds.
    On a happy note- I can’t wait to hopefully see your next ultrasound photo! I’m so excited for you, that you are on this journey. Just think…3 more weeks and you will be in your 2nd trimester!!

    • Yep, I already know that. I have enough to worry about right now though, I’m not going to freak myself out about that stuff. The ultrasounds are necessary…I can do without the doppler, but I want to at least try it a little bit. I haven’t used it much at all so far. Thanks!

  6. I woke up this morning thinking of you! I hope (and pray) your appointment goes well today! When I read your comment about how high levels of inflammation can sometimes lead to miscarriage, I was reminded of my pregnancy and being diagnosed with an SCH and being told that those can also lead to miscarriage. It’s so scary to hear because you just assume the worst will happen, but I am here to tell you that my 5 month old is screaming on the floor right now, ha! That’s just to say that sometimes doctors get it right but a lot of times they don’t! And you are proof, you are carrying a healthy baby! Please keep us updated on how the appt goes!

  7. Hope everything goes well today..I am always thinking of you and praying for you and your lil one!! FX good news!! πŸ™‚

  8. Know you already know this as a nurse, but medicine is a business. If they are denying an ultrasound for medical reasons, that’s one thing. But they might be denying it for other reasons. It might be that your insurance will only cover so many ultrasounds and they might have to be a certain distance apart (my insurance covered 5 ultrasounds no closer than 30 days apart during pregnancy before I had to pay co-insurance). If that’s the case, they are unlikely to do an extra ultrasound without the guarantee that the insurance will pick up the tab. You can always offer to pay for service without insurance, which I’m sure will be a fairly hefty tab. If they say that there are no medical reasons why it shouldn’t be done AND they won’t let you pay out of pocket, then they are really bad at business! (And as a further side note that you also already know as a nurse, docs really don’t like other docs telling them what to do unless they have asked for a consult. I’m guessing that’s why you are getting push back from the clinics. It sucks being caught in the middle.)

    • That’s true – I believe it was more of them not wanting to do what my other doc said. I understand why they have that problem, but it makes it tough. Boo! Thankfully my new OB is going to go along with it πŸ™‚

  9. Oh my gosh that is so obnoxious that they’re being jerks about doing regular ultrasounds. Did they actually READ your history? Ugh, you shouldn’t have to deal with this… glad you seem to be back on track, though. I’m sure everything will be “spot on” at your next appt. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

