My baby is now a fetus! Week 9.

I’m going to try to write a regular weekly “pregnancy update post” like this, so I can better organize my thoughts. I also want to write other types of posts, but I’m not quite sure what to write about! Is there something you’d like to see? Like what it’s like to be a pregnant infertile, pregnancy after loss, or things I tried that may have contributed to my BFP? Would you like to know more about RPL testing, immune testing & treatment, or Dr. Kwak-Kim? Or anything else? I don’t want to bombard everyone constantly with preggo posts, but it means so much to me to be able to share all this with everyone. As always, I’m here for you – so feel free to email me with any questions or if you want to talk. Baby4Lisa(at)gmail(dot)com.

How far along: 9 weeks, 1 day!

Baby size: An olive! Baby is now a fetus, not an embryo anymore!

46165_272922892834221_875067372_nSymptoms: I still feel great! I must be one of the “lucky” ones, but I didn’t want to be. I wanted more symptoms! πŸ˜‰ I guess the fatigue has been the most noticeable symptom so far, but it isn’t that bad and it’s not constant. I definitely have to go to bed early and take naps on the weekends. I’ve noticed a feeling of pressure on my bladder that makes me have to pee more frequently. It’s a different feeling than I had before. I know it will get worse, but that’s okay. I have not had morning sickness, but I do get shaky before I eat breakfast. I have to eat pretty much constantly throughout the day, or I don’t feel “right”. I’ve been taking lots of healthy snacks to work with me. The past couple days, my appetite has been HUGE! I don’t just HAVE to eat, I WANT to eat – everything in sight!

Food Cravings: I think I’ve eaten Ramen noodles every single day since I got pregnant. LOL. I’m still craving salty/spicy food, but it doesn’t feel like a strong craving anymore. It’s more like nothing else sounds good, so I’ll just eat that. Strong flavor tastes better to me. However, I have just recently started eating things I wouldn’t eat previously. I did have an aversion to meat and sweets for the first few weeks of pregnancy, but I will eat a little bit of those now. I think it’s because my appetite is stronger again. I’m going to take advantage of that and try to eat more diverse and healthy foods.

Emotions: I have been referring to last week as “cry baby week”. I cried at work, I felt on the verge of tears most of the time, I was easily offended, and I just felt fragile. LOL. I keep feeling like I’m forgetting things and screwing things up. Sometimes I cry over nothing. I’ve been okay the past couple days, but it is an adjustment to have so many emotions and hormones running through me. I’m able to laugh at myself though. πŸ™‚ Other than that, I’m soooo happy!

Weight: I don’t mind gaining weight at all, but I have not gained any yet. I lost a lot in the months leading up to getting my BFP, so maybe my body has kind of stalled out. I’m not losing anymore, so that’s good.

Something I’ve done to prepare for baby’s arrival: Nothing yet, but we are going to do some organizing projects around the house soon. We have a big closet downstairs that we use for storage that desperately needs cleaned out, things thrown away or donated, and re-vamped. After that, I’d like to get the 2nd bedroom organized and cleared out, as well as our bedroom because we will be moving more stuff there. I’ve had a major urge to get everything cleaned and organized the past couple weeks. Oh, and I bought 2 pairs of maternity pants (jeans and khakis) and a maternity top. πŸ™‚ I haven’t worn them yet though.

What I am most excited about: Everything! Oh my gosh, I’m excited every single day! I’m excited to be pregnant, for another week, for another milestone, for the present moment, and for all things to come. I’m so grateful!

Belly pic:

1.16.13

1.16.13

10 thoughts on “My baby is now a fetus! Week 9.

  1. I love that the comparison is a green olive ! I love green olives! You are doing great! I wood love to hear a summary of your diagnosis and what was used to treat it, especially the autoimmune stuff because I believe that is my issue. Sadly I just dont have the resources to determine that.

  2. 9 weeks?! Amazing! I’m glad to hear you’re dodging the really bad symptoms. I’d say you put in your time with the IF shitstorm, so tolerable symptoms for you πŸ™‚ I’ll read anything you post, girl!

  3. Wow. 9 weeks is great, not long until your in the 2nd trimester. I tried desperately for three years to get preg and I did through ivf. At 5w1d morning sickness hit me like a freight train! It last until about 6 mths then came back at 8. And although I was totally grateful for being preg, there were days I wants to curl up in the corner and cry. I was like Kate Middleton and it got so bad I had to go to the ER and then be on medication. It was very hard for me to enjoy being pregnant. That may sound terrible, as I know I was lucky, but it truly was unbearable. I would do it again in a heartbeat.

    You are very blessed to be preg and to enjoy every minute of it! Looking back, it was worth every vomit and every second of nausea. I got lucky with my second, she gave me none!

    Bless you and that tiny fetus!

  4. I love to see your posts no matter what they are. I would enjoy reading about all of the above things you mentioned because I feel like I am in the same boat. Hopefully I’ll join your team soon and it could be from something you write about. Just reading about the blood tests you had done got the ball rolling for me. You just never know how you’re helping someone. Congratulations on your olive!

  5. I would read anything you post Lisa! I love reading your pregnancy updates. I think a post on autoimmune issues and treatments might be helpful for people too, especially since it is hard to get attention from doctors about immune issues and it may spread awareness.

    Nine weeks already! I can’t believe how time flies. You’re just a hop skip and jump from your second trimester. Enjoy every minute of it and your little olive :-).

  6. Aww, I love how utterly thrilled and excited you still are about this, loving every second! It seems like a lot of your fears have subsided and you really believe in this pregnancy, which is wonderful. Hmmm… I guess the only suggestion I’d have for a post might be your thoughts on what you think contributed to this BFP that stuck — was it just luck? The right drug combo? Positive thinking? Consuming mass amounts of pineapple core? πŸ™‚

  7. I love reading your posts lisa, no matter what they are about! I especially want to hear all about baby, and you and how you are doing! πŸ™‚ ❀

  8. Look at that beautiful baby bump grow! I’m jealous! B/c of my fat I didn’t get a noticeable bump increase until much later. Boooo lol…

    Anyway… I say post everything and more often!!! *nodnodnodnod* hehe

Leave a Reply

