Beta # 8, and we told Andy’s family!

Just got my 8th beta today at 6 weeks (28dpo)! It is 12,417 with a doubling time of 70.97 hours! At this point, it’s normal for the doubling time to slow down to more like 72-ish hours or longer. It still makes me a little nervous. I just want to make sure my little “spot” keeps growing and stays safe and healthy. I can’t get over the fact that things are progressing so well. I never imagined hitting 6 weeks!

Oh, and I know spot is a silly nickname for baby lol, but both Andy and I said that as soon as we saw the ultrasound screen with a “spot” there, we knew that was our baby before the doctor even said anything 😀 So it fits. ♥
 
spot is the size of a sweet pea!!

spot is the size of a sweet pea!!

We told Andy’s side of the family yesterday! Andy was adorable – he was so pumped! Then he kept stumbling over his words, while making the announcement. Made my heart melt. His family was quite excited to think of a new baby in the family! Andy has an older sister, but her 2 kids are grown (young, but grown). Andy also has a twin brother, but he’s nowhere near having any kids. Our little one will be the center of attention! It seemed like Andy’s Dad was actually a little emotional – and he doesn’t usually get like that! We feel so loved, lucky, and overjoyed by every little moment. I know I’m a broken record, but I can’t help it! 😀

One thing that struck me though… Andy’s family said they couldn’t wait to buy a bunch of baby stuff next Christmas. All I could think was, “hopefully”…”if nothing goes wrong”. I know there is still fear there for me, but I am dealing with it. On our way home from the family gathering, I started crying and told Andy I had those scary thoughts. We had a good talk, and somehow he got me to be all excited and happy again in no time. 😀 Andy kept saying excitedly, “Wow, both families know now. It’s official. This is happening.” We were talking baby names again (his idea! But it’s fun)! I posted a link over on my side column —-> It’s where it my tickers are.

I recently added some updates to my former “Pee Stick page”, if you hadn’t checked it out yet…It’s now a page for all things pregnancy-related. My main symptoms right now are fatigue (but not being able to sleep restfully), sore BBs, still some constipation issues, and craving spicy/salty food. I’ve got a pretty bad chest cold & cough and sinus issues right now, so I’m kind of out of it. But I feel great otherwise! 🙂 I’m excited for symptoms!! I can’t wait to see “spot” again on Friday! Time to see the heartbeat (please God)! I’ll be 6 weeks, 2 days then.

21 thoughts on “Beta # 8, and we told Andy’s family!

  1. That’s so awesome!! Little Spot is a strong one 😀
    I totally understand having those continued negative thoughts. I think it’s natural with what some of us have gone through.
    Hopefully once you see your little peanut on Friday with a nice strong heartbeat, it will help to chip away a bit more at the doubt. And I must say, it is SO exciting reading all of your updates and getting to go along this journey with you.

  2. Yay, so happy for you guys! Very cute about Andy telling his family and I love the way you guys can talk through things and support each other. Here’s to awesome betas that continue to rise perfectly! Sending lots of positive thoughts for your appointment Friday. 🙂

  3. I cannot tell you how long I have been following you when I was also trying to fall pregnant.. Seeing this now for me has blown my mind.. I am SO SO happy for you xxxx This is it, I can feel it x

  4. Stalking from TWW (texasmeg1). We had our first ultrasound on the same day last year… we were 6w2d as well and didn’t even see/hear a heartbeat! Baby girl was just born on 8/13/2012. So I’d say this is more than amazing 🙂 I am seriously in tears. So so happy for y’all!

  5. Yay for Spot and telling Andy’s family!! I remember feeling the same sort of anxiety when I started telling people too–I think it is normal! Btw, LOVE your baby names! My favorites are Naomi for a girl and Graham for a boy. Gabrielle is beautiful too! My hubby loves that name and wanted to name a girl that if that’s what we were having. I’m so happy for you!!

    • Thank you!! 🙂 Hubby doesn’t like Gabrielle as much…boo! We have pretty similar tastes though. Graham is actually our favorite boy name now. It’s exciting to think about! 🙂

Leave a Reply

