So egg-cited! Infertile Thanksgiving and 2nd follie check

LOL – this made me crack up.

I hope everyone had a nice Thanksgiving! We sure did! Thursday, we went to Andy’s family gathering here in town. Totally gorged ourselves, Omg. Andy’s older sister is an amazing cook! Friday, I had to work, but it wasn’t too bad. I would have rather slept off my turkey coma though. πŸ˜‰ Saturday, we went out of town to visit my side of the family. Ate too much yummy food again – ha! We tried to fit in seeing everyone that we could. I love getting to see all my beautiful nieces and nephews (11 of them!) – they fill my heart with so much joy…and also a little sadness that we don’t have kids to bring along yet.

Me, playing with my sweet niece, Karstin (age 1)

My family asked about my fertility treatments. They don’t seem to say anything inappropriate anymore, which is nice. It used to always be dumb questions/comments, joke about it, or they would tell me to “relax”, or “it’ll happen when you least expect it/when it’s meant to be” – that kind of stuff. Now they listen, ask questions that make sense (they are really trying to learn and understand), and let me know they’re praying for us. I almost started crying talking about everything. They do make me feel loved, and I could sense the seriousness and concern they felt. I’m thankful that they realize we have serious medical issues to overcome, and it’s not easy for us. I’m also so thankful that I have educated them!

How does your family act? Do they know about your infertility?

I hope all you crazy Black Friday shoppers did okay! I have never done it, and I doubt I ever will. No offense to anyone who does, but I have far too much anxiety to be amongst big, crazy crowds like that. They way people act freak me out, too. Good deals are amazing, but Gahhhh. πŸ˜›

Did you go shopping? If so, how did it go?

Saturday morning was my 2nd follicle scan. I can’t believe it – all SIX follicles from Wednesday are STILL growing!!! Woohoo!!! Most of them were around 8mm Wednesday, so in 3 days they grew and average of about 4-5mm. I continued my FSH injections Saturday & today, then trigger tomorrow (Monday morning). My doctor is very pleased with my response. She said she’s happy to see my stimming more slowly this time around. Thank you, birth control pills! Oh, and my lining is perfect at 9mm.

  • Right ovary – 17mm, 12.5mm, 13.5mm, 13mm

(Was – 11.5mm, 8mm, 8.5mm, 8mm)

  • Left ovary – 18mm, 13mm

(Was – 12mm, 9mm)

18 thoughts on “So egg-cited! Infertile Thanksgiving and 2nd follie check

  1. That is so great!! I am so excited for you!!

    I was definitely one of those crazy Black Friday shoppers, LOL! A friend of mine and I were in line at Toys R Us waiting for it to open. We were around number 2300 in line. I thought for sure there was no way we were going to get what we were there for, but we both lucked out! I was able to finish my shopping for Zander and then we hit Walmart and Target. Walmart wasn’t really that bad but Target’s checkout line was a NIGHTMARE!!! I was so exhausted by the time we left, LOL. I came home and crashed hard!!

  2. Unfortunately, neither my in-laws or my own family even mentioned anything, which is weird because I’m so open about everything. It just would’ve been nice for someone to say,”I’m sorry you are having another Thanksgiving without children. I’m sure that has to be hard.”

    Surely next Thanksgiving we will have our own little one to bring along. But I think that every year and it never changes. I understand what you meant by enjoying the time with nieces and nephews but it also making you sad.

    • Aww, I’m sorry they didn’t say anything. I agree, there should be something they can say!! Praying that next year’s holidays are extra special for you guys πŸ™‚ xoxo

  3. Im so glad that your eggies are growing beautifully and slowly! Slow and steady wins the race! It sounds like you had a great thanksgiving!

    My family is my DH, his parents and my BFF and her family. Everyone else I leave out of my life because they are not supportive and only contribute unhappiness! We all spent thanksgiving together, I cooked! Some on my dishes were so-so, but we all had fun!

    DH and my BFFs dh went black friday shopping. Me and BFF stayed at home with her little girl and napped! Later on we made a charm bracelet for her little girl, and I braided her hair.

    I am sending you lots of prayers for this cycle!! ❀

    • I’m glad you got together with those who mean most to you! So sorry to hear your family isn’t supportive 😦 I always believe that family is what we make of it, so it’s good you have your own awesome little family unit ❀
      Wow, good job to your DH for braving the shopping!! πŸ™‚

  4. Ahhh yay for those eggies!! Maybe that time off and the BC will be just the ticket for this cycle!! I’m glad you had a nice thanksgiving too–it sounds like you are surrounded by a wonderful group of family and friends. It is in my prayers that next Thanksgiving you will be holding your own little one in your arms (or at least have that nice sticky bean in your belly). ❀

    p.s. I am just like you about the black friday shopping–the crowds and chaos completely freak me out!! I much prefer cyber-Monday πŸ™‚

  5. While we were going through our infertility our families kept saying things like “just stop trying so hard, relax and it’ll happen” and then when we tried to adopt they said “everybody I know that’s adopted has gotten pregnant right after they finished their adoption process.” After being hurt by their comments and being tired of answering to their stupid questions, I stopped talking to them about it. I only had one cousin who was truly interested and cared to listen. When I told her about our pregnancy, she cried tears of joy.

    It is not easy going through this journey and know you are not alone. I know I’ve just begun commenting on your blog but I’ve been a lurker on TWW. You and your DH are in our prayers. Keep your head high and know we are all here for you!

  6. Come on eggies! SO awesome that all 6 are growin’ away!

    (Some of)Our family doesn’t ask face to face about our treatments, I think, because it embarrasses them…it kind of annoys me that I know they are reading my blog, but very seldom do I get asked about how I’m doing in person, unless I bring it up first. I guess I’d rather have that than get stupid advice or comments, but it’s the “what’s going on” in my life right now, so to ignore it can be upsetting and by always bringing it up myself, I sometimes feel like a broken record! Excited for your next update! Wishing you lots of luck and love!

    • Ugh, that would irk me! If they read your blog and know about it, there must be something they can say 😦 That really sucks. I tend to feel like a broken record too sometimes!! But yeah, they are probably embarrassed or uncomfortable or something. I still wish they would say/do more. *hugs*
      Thanks hun for the support!! I’m excited for you, too!! πŸ˜€

  7. Yay for the eggies!! I don’t do Black Friday shopping. You can find all those deals online for the same amount or cheaper plus I know first-hand what it’s like to not get holiday time with my husband because he has to go work on Black Friday. I would rather him be home longer with me, not going to bed way early to get up at 4 a.m.!

  8. WOOO follies!!!
    We usually don’t Black Friday shop. We’re not the crazy bunch that go and camp out. We actually saw people camped out by Best Buy on WEDNESDAY night. How frickin stupid is that? Giving up Thanksgiving just to save a little bit of money is ridiculous.
    Anyway… to each their own.

Leave a Reply

