Gluten-free anyone? And allergies affecting fertility?

I’ve been thinking of going gluten-free for awhile, but I feel intimidated. It seems like a lot of work. I know some ladies that have had great success – fertility wise, as well as just feeling better overall (especially with GI issues). Many who did not test positive for a gluten allergy. I’ve never been tested. I know I have a lot of allergies – which didn’t seem to come about until I was an adult. I even have eczema now. I would like to get more extensive food allergy testing. I did get tested for several common allergies a few years ago, and I was surprised that I was allergic to everything they tested me for. They only did maybe 7-10 things though, and only a few food items.

I’ve had GI issues for a loooong time. Several years ago, the doctors said I had IBS (Irritable Bowel Syndrome). I had to have a sigmoidoscopy about 8 years ago – and oh boy, they don’t give you anything to put you out for those! Ouch!! It seems to come and go though. It’s not a constant battle. That kind of leads me to believe that it is related to something I’m eating. On my Dad’s side of the family, EVERYONE has developed heartburn, reflux, and indigestion issues at a young age. I have not asked them about their bowel habits though haha! I started having acid reflux years ago. I even had to get an upper Endoscopy about 4 years ago. They didn’t see much, just some slight gastritis (inflammation of the stomach). I take antacids. One of the scary things is that my grandfather (Dad’s dad) died of esophageal cancer, which was caused by untreated acid reflux. His lining just eroded away and the constant irritation was the primary reason for his cancer.

I’ve noticed now, especially on Metformin (it’s such a GI irritater!) that I cannot eat nearly as much as I could before without feeling miserable. I mean, this is good. I’ve lost almost 14 lbs over the past few months. Even if I don’t eat a lot, but I eat the WRONG thing, I feel horrible – all night and even into the next day. Plus, I’m getting older and my GI issues are probably getting worse anyhow. With all the other inflammation in my body (Endometriosis & autoimmune stuff), I know I need to be more careful with what I eat.

OMG, this cracked me up…..but yeah, it can seem like this at times…

Where do I start??? What are some quick, easy foods to get started with? Something I can make just for me, because Andy is already whining about my diet change. LOL. He doesn’t want to eat anything different. *rolls eyes* πŸ˜› I’m looking on Pinterest, and I have a couple friends that are trying gluten-free. I know I can look at labels to check if there’s wheat or gluten. And many things now say gluten-free in bold, right on the package. I want to make sure I get a balanced, nutritious diet though. I can’t live off of Chex cereal. πŸ˜› I want to start out slow and easy, so I don’t get overwhelmed and quit. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. πŸ™‚

So what do you all think? Do you have allergies? Do you have inflammation in your body? How does it affect YOU?

Oh, and today is CD 2. I’ve had a pretty nice weekend though, despite all the craziness that was going on at the end of last cycle. I feel somewhat better that it has ended. Tests are negative today, finally. Still waiting for Dr. KK’s response from my email. They are typically pretty busy, so it’s alright. We aren’t doing fertility treatments this cycle anyway.

37 thoughts on “Gluten-free anyone? And allergies affecting fertility?

  1. GREAT idea to go GF if you have IBS – try if for a few weeks to see if it helps! And with immune issues, GF is also a good idea. But no, you can’t eat chex cereal – you have to replace with nutritious foods. Eating rice bread/pasta/corn instead isn’t going to cut it [make sure there is proper protein, you’re just not replacing with all starches]. Check out the endometriosis diet/Paleo diet/GAPS diet. Fermented foods and broth made from bones also helps soothe digestion, very important to incorporate.
    This could be your last ticket…? GL!

  2. I’m glad you’re feeling better now that you’re on to a new cycle. I’m so sorry to hear about your last beta. Hang in there, you are a strong, strong lady!

    I think The Bird is gluten-free…I bet she has some great tips for you! I don’t have experience personally, but my Mom has had a lot of issues with allergies and IBS for years. She finally had a bunch of tests done this year and figured she would end up with gluten intolerance and tons of allergies. She didn’t, according to the tests, so she started her own food experiment by cutting out wheat. Her reaction to eating it now is almost immediate. Within minutes of eating something with wheat, she starts coughing, sneezing and phlegm appears out of nowhere! It’s crazy, so I think that being tested is a step in the right direction for you!

    • Thanks hun ❀
      Wow, that's really interesting!! It's funny you said that because my mom is experimenting now, and she thinks she's allergic to wheat, too! I don't think she was tested, but she has lots of allergies, too.

  3. The month I got pregnant was the month I was GF. I basically ate protein and veggies and potatoes all month. It’s a very clean and healthy diet! I think it’s a fantastic idea!! Hope that it helps you.

  4. If you are at all a baker, the gluten-free, almond flour cookbook is amazing. I went gluten free for a while, and even though I didn’t get pregnant, I did feel a lot healthier!

  5. Totally look in to The Primal Blueprint. I always suggest it and it’s really not as intimidating as it first appears to be. Take a look at marksdailyapple.com. Loads of recipes and information along with a forum where you can ask questions, get inspiration, get recipes etc.
    I will say, the only thing about going primal is that you have to really plan every meal in advance. There really isn’t much you can just eat quickly with it unless it’s leftovers.
    But anyway… you don’t have to be super strict with it, but getting rid of most wheat, grains and added sugar would benefit pretty much everyone.
    As for gluten free….. not sure if you have the store Krogers? I know they have labels where the price is for most of the gluten free products, and like you said, most stuff actually lists if they’re gluten free now.
    It is intimidating at first, but once you get in to all of it, it’s not that bad πŸ™‚

  6. My aunt is such a good cook that she has built a business around it! She has studied nutrition in school, speaks at seminars, and writes cookbooks. Here is the link to her gluten free cook book…http://greattastenogluten.com/. Her first cook book is based on general abdominal problems and that is called Great Taste no Pain, if you are interested in that you can google it. Good luck, Lisa. I keep praying for you.

  7. Have you been tested for Celiac? My friend had serious issues for years and doctors always thought IBS, gall bladder, etc. Turns out it was Celiac and she also has an auto immune disease as well. Anyway, hummus and veggies are gluten free- that’s a yummy snack! All fruits and veggies, rice, potatoes, meat, dairy. I think you would be surprised how easy it might be to cut out gluten. Good luck and I have heard it does help with fertility! πŸ™‚

  8. I was just going to ask about celiac sprue – they tested my son for that long time ago when he was having several issues you mention. Turns out (we found out a few years later) he’s severely allergic to MANY food items, bad enough to need to carry an epi-pen…. Soy being one of those, and since that’s in MANY MANY things (including soaps, lotions, candles, shampoo, etc) it was affecting him everywhere!! He’s also allergic to Almonds, Peanuts, Peas (all of the Legumes, actually) along with most trees, molds, pollen, dust, weeds, cats, and on and on and ON!! I think )so I’ve heard) if you want to start small with many positives, try WHEAT FREE and adding a slice of lemon to your water πŸ˜‰ Good luck!!

  9. PS, he doesn’t have Celiac, nor does he need to be gluten free (thank goodness!!) I say thank goodness b/c it’s already hard enough to feed him, I just don’t need that on top of everything else.

  10. Just wanted to tell you that even though I tested negative for a gluten allergy, I have an intolerance for it and went gluten free anyway! And I also have ibs and hashimotos thyroiditis as well as infertility. Going gluten free was a good move..my stomach just feels better and I have less issues there. It is really not as hard to do as you might think..they have products out there for anything you used to have with gluten. All the red mill products are great too for baking. It is worth it. Good luck!

  11. I have Crohn’s Disease and after my son was born he had severe eczema. I decided to go gluten-free (I was breast-feeding). His eczema completely cleared up within a month and I felt like a million bucks. I believe both of us are gluten-senstive (not allergic) but it really made a difference.

    Regarding the diet being intimidating…so many diff’t brands offer gluten-free products, even big brands. It’s so much easier than it used to be. The main thing we did was stick to meat, cheese and veggies. I bought some gluten-free pasta and bread, but we didn’t eat it that much. It’s a really healthy diet. Also, pinterest has some wonderful GF pins to recipes, blogs, etc. Good luck!

    • Wow, that’s interesting! I’m glad it worked for you. Sounds good πŸ™‚ I have noticed more stores advertising their gluten free products, so hopefully it won’t be too bad πŸ™‚

  12. I don’t know a whole lot about the gluten free stuff, but thought I’d throw in the idea of lactose intolerance? Mostly because I’ve recently been dealing with it and can’t believe the GI issues it was causing me. It’s really easy to try and see if you have it – just avoid dairy (milk especially) for 2 to 3 days and see how you feel. It might not have anything to do with it, but you never know.

  13. I have endo and was recently tested for allergies…wheat came up HUGE on my arm! lol…guess I’m allergic, which isn’t a surprise given everything I’ve read about endo. if you like breads, I suggest anything by Udi. If you like pasta, Trader Joe’s brand is the least spendy for the fabulous taste! It’s also pretty easy to switch out gluten….eat rice and, my personal fave, quinoa, as side dishes. I follow the 80/20 rule…most of the time, I’m gluten-free, but I don’t kill myself if there are traces somewhere. Also, there’s a relatively new book that came out, Wheat Belly, that documents why *all* grains are inflammatory and the cause behind lots of disease. Interesting…

    Good luck!

    (formerly Mission: Fertile Seoul)

  14. I do not have Celiac’s but because I kept losing pregnancies I went GF. I was always eating a low GI diet due to low levels of PCOS so GF wasn’t much of a stretch. Needless to say, for me, GF didn’t help me keep any of my babies. I did however find this website helpful in determining what is GF and what isn’t. http://www.shopwell.com !

  15. Lisa, I have an AMAZING cookbook for you to try. My daughter (3.5 yrs) and I have been GF for about 8 months now. This is a cookbook that I wish I had had at the very beginning. It’s called The Healthy Gluten Free LIfe (http://www.amazon.com/s/?ie=UTF8&keywords=the+healthy+gluten+free+life&tag=googhydr-20&index=aps&hvadid=9742292181&
    hvpos=1t1&hvexid=&hvnetw=g&hvrand=4305834286084381&hvpone=&hvptwo=&hvqmt=b&ref=pd_sl_7hd7jek8ef_b

    It is filled with wonderful recipes of all types. I think even Andy will like the food you can make with this book. Even the baked goods taste just as good as the regular stuff. Please do yourself a favor and check out this book.

  16. I am so sorry to hear about all those allergies and gastrointestinal problems! I have a friend who developed all sorts of allergies when she became an adult too, its wierd, I guess our systems change as we age! I wish I had some good advice to give you on the gluten free, but unfortunately I don’t know much about it except for hearing people say they felt great after adopting a gluten-free lifestyle. I hear it is difficult, but manageable once you get the routine down (actually one of my facebook friends was RAVING about it today). Good luck and let us know what Dr K says!

    • Thanks! πŸ™‚ That’s good to hear! I think I’m noticing a difference already πŸ™‚ Still no word from Dr. K. I will probably call her office today.

  17. I reas this post from my iphone and wasnt able to reply then…so just getting around to replying. I have been gluten freen for over 2 years now. I was diagnosed as gluten intolerant. actually, in hindsight, a lot of my medical issues stem from that intolerance. And the odd thing was, I had no idea I was intolerant. I never got sick eating it or had symtpoms. I was devasted at first but now I am grateful, because it keeps me from eating a bunch of crap! (almost everything with gluten has minimal nutritional value, most of it is fortified anyway). I think it just takes time to learn it- its overwhelming. Gluten is many condiments, breads, pasta, cereals and even things you wouldnt imagine, like some root beers, etc. I just gave up on processed foods and eat 98% whole foods (fruit, vegetables, proteins, nuts, fish and I rarely do whole grains because those are just as bad in my opinion) I would start with the obvious, bread, cereal and pasta and then go from there. just start reading labels and make sure you know all the names its hidden under. Any ingredients that have ambigious names “natural flavorings, colorings, etc – are not safe). I can tell you that I rarely miss it. Maybe once or twice a year I might (fairs, (friend dough) – etc…but on a daily basis it feels great to be free from it and I do feel great. Clearly it hasnt gotten me pregnant but I do have other medical issues going on, so hard to gage that! Good Luck!

  18. Hi Lisa! I check in on here all the time, constantly praying for you and your husband. We had been trying to conceive for over 2 1/2 years. The doctors told me all kinds of stuff, but the bottom line was they had no idea what was wrong. In early October I started having a lot of GI problems and to make a long story short, I was recently diagnosed in January with biopsy confirmed celiac. So, I had to go gluten free. On March 6th I found out I was pregnant!!! All that time it was diet. As I started researching, you would be amazed what gluten will do to your body. I hope this is your miracle like it was mine!

Leave a Reply

