Fertility massage and cycle 42 update

Unfortunately, we had to cancel the IUI. Something came up unexpectedly – financially. Plus, I hear from Dr. Kwak-Kim today with my test results and follow up. She may have bigger plans for us, so it’s not a bad idea right now to not spend that money. We have conceived before with timed intercourse (luckily), so fingers crossed that we will again – and stay pregnant for 9 months or so! I feel good that one of those 4-5 eggies is a good one (I hope)! πŸ™‚

I triggered Monday morning, and I think I either ovulated late last night or I’m still ovulating today. Monday afternoon, I had my first fertility massage! It was an amazing, unique experience! She combined regular massage over my entire body, reflexology on my feet, “cupping”, and fertility massage – to my abdomen, uterus/ovaries, and hips/legs. She spoke a lot of soothing words, used guided imagery, and had me work on letting go of my feelings and emotions. She also taught me how to do my own massage to improve blood flow to my uterus and ovaries! It was awesome, and I loved it. I would highly recommend checking into this specific kind of massage if there are any in your area.

I had never done “cupping” before. It’s hard to explain, but here is a link for it. It is supposed to improve circulation. My back did not have big welts on it afterwards like in the pics, though thankfully! She used suction cups on me. It felt kind of strange, but nice! πŸ™‚ Some people who perform acupuncture will also do this.

My follow up is (via phone) at noon today! I’m kind of nervous, but looking forward to hearing what she has to say. I will update once I process all the information, because I’m sure there will be a lot to take in.

9 thoughts on “Fertility massage and cycle 42 update

  1. Wow, the fertility massage sounds super cool. Maybe I should look into that! Too bad you have to cancel the IUI, but it does make sense to wait for bigger things. And you’ll be in a rest cycle next month anyway, right? All the more time for your immune drugs to kick in. GL!

  2. Aw, sorry you had to cancel the IUI. That sucks, but we all know stuff comes up at the worst possible time. So glad you enjoyed the massage! I have had a hard time really relaxing during mine. Especially around my hips (front and back) I hold my breath! I had never heard of cupping either- very interesting!

  3. If you don’t have welts and you’re not bruised it means your circulation is good πŸ™‚ I was covered in purple circles the first couple of months – now it’s barely noticeable on my skin.

  4. I’ve never done cupping before but my aunt in Greece used to do it to my cousins when they were sick. It left some crazy bruises! Glad it didn’t leave any on you! Was it painful?

    Sorry you had to cancel your iui but I think timed intercourse will be good too! Looking forward to hearing about your follow up with Dr k!!

  5. Very interesting about the fertility massage, especially the cupping. I remember when the tabloids had pictures of Gwyneth Paltrow’s back after a treatment and how it’s really good at improving circulation, etc. I’m also excited about your consult recommendations!!

  6. Thanks ladies! I would highly recommend the massage – and the cupping, too πŸ™‚
    We still feel pretty positive about this cycle, even without the IUI. Just keeping my fingers crossed πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

