May the odds be ever in your favor!

We had a fun date night and a wonderful weekend! Too bad it’s over already. Both Andy and I enjoyed The Hunger Games movie.Β  I thought they did an admirable job of relaying the story as the book told it, which is difficult to do sometimes. It wasn’t spectacular, but it was quite good! One funny part was how they had to stop and explain the tracker jackers, because you know everyone would know that. Andy said it was like stopping in the middle of a football game to explain the rules haha.

I hadn’t read anything about the movie or who played the characters. I was surprised to see Lenny Kravitz as Cinna, Elizabeth Banks as Effie, and Woody Harrelson as Haymitch. I pictured Haymitch as heavier and more vulgar, but Woody was a good choice. We didn’t even realize that was Elizabeth Banks until later – especially because of all that make-up! The cast was pretty good though. I’m definitely looking forward to the next movie! I wonder if they’ll combine books 2 & 3? There’s a lot of slower moving story lines leading up until the end of the series.

And for whatever reason, we ate Greek food on Cinco de Mayo! LOL. Neither of us drink anymore, so we don’t really get into those kinds of holidays. We just wanted to try something different. The restaurant we went to is not a chain – it’s a local business, family owned and operated. The food was delicious, and our whole meal was only $18! We both had Gyros and fries. I was a little leary of trying something too different, since I know nothing about that kind of food. I feel braver now. Everything looked and smelled excellent, so hopefully it tastes superb, too. I can’t wait to go back again and try one of their more authentic dishes.

Sunday was a super lazy day! I don’t know what came over me, but I could not stay awake for the life of me! The first thing I thought was that maybe I’m pregnant. I took a test yesterday afternoon and this morning – total BFNs. It’s okay though — a BFN is much better than faint lines, evaps, or chemical pregnancies. I’m on CD 24, so I suppose there could be a chance. My natural cycles are normally quite short, so this one is working out pretty well. At least the immune meds will be in my system (hopefully working) for the next couple cycles. I’m not anxious about getting pregnant right now, however I always still have a tiny bit of hope that we’ll get lucky somehow. For me, it’s like The Hunger Games. Even if the odds are in my favor, it doesn’t end up working out anyway! Although, that won’t stop me from trying! πŸ™‚

Here’s my CD 24 (today) BFN – tweaked, so you can see I don’t ALWAYS get lines πŸ˜‰

10 thoughts on “May the odds be ever in your favor!

  1. I don’t read many book that are made into movies (or many books in general :/ ) but when you read the book you imagine a person to look a certain way, and then see them in a movie and they are not at all as you thought. I read Twilight (yeah, I’m 14 at heart) before the movie and saw Edward as an attractive guy. Then saw the movie and Robert Pattinson and the hair. I thought he was supposed to be hot, who is this ugly guy? Whatever, the books are usually better anyways.

  2. How cool about the Greek food– I love gyros! If you go again and want some tips let me know! I always get pastitsio (its like Greek lasagna) and lemon potatoes are delicious too!

    I thought the casting in the hunger games was interesting too– I actually didn’t picture peeta like the actor they casted at first but then he really grew on me. Glad you had a good weekend!

  3. Sounds like a nice weekend! I cant wait to see the movie(but im waiting for it on dvd bc I cant sit thru a movie at the moment without peeing 5 times lol).

  4. So glad you had a nice date night! This sounds so fun. I haven’t yet read the books or watched the movie, but I definitely see them in my future…

  5. They are actually making book 2 one movie and book 3 will be two movies. So they are going to make it three movies to finish the series. I miss gyros. They are so yummy.

Leave a Reply

