Insomnia, hunger, and date night

The past few nights, I have woken up at the same time! About 3:30-4:00am…and can’t fall back asleep. I’ve had to pee really badly, so I’m pretty sure I ovulated about 4-7 days or so ago. It’s not really a symptom or a good sign for me, because I always have frequent urination during my luteal phase. The only positive thing it means to me is that the natural progesterone in my body is most likely at a decent level. [I’ll take that]. The insomnia could potentially be a good sign, but it’s most likely from the steroids. Funny thing is, I feel like I slept a normal night’s sleep. I’ll feel tired later though, I’m sure. Probably take a nap at some point.

The drugs suck! My belly is bruised terribly already from the Lovenox injections. I’m so starving from the steroids. It’s 6:30am now, and I feel like I could eat a huge plate of steak and potatoes LOL (I’m not going to though). I hope I don’t put back on the weight I lost. I’m trying my best to stay healthy and avoid cravings. I don’t mean to complain — I’m happy to take whatever meds I need, or even stick needles in my eyeballs if that’s what it takes. I’ll do it! Sign me up!

This next part is quite appropriate, considering my ravishing appetite from the steroids. I made Andy read The Hunger Games. πŸ˜› We are going out to dinner at a Greek restaurant later, then going to see the movie!! I can’t wait! I didn’t think he would read it, but he did for me so we can discuss it after we watch it. I love him.Β β™₯ The only trade off is that he’s going to start making me watch Games of Thrones now. I’ve heard it’s actually pretty good though. Andy read all the books recently…there are thousands of pages and so much material. I don’t know if I’ll get all geeky into that, but I’ll give it a try. (No offense to anyone haha!)

Once we get “the plan” from Dr. Kwak-Kim, I’d like to take another look at our finances and possibly take a mini-vacation. I don’t know. We always talk about it, but we end up finding better uses for our money. Things are improving a lot financially for us, so maybe we should finally treat ourselves. Heck, going to see Dr. Kwak-Kim in Chicago was kind of like a vacation, and we only spent a few hundred at the most. I know we need to go back one more time to see her and do my first IVIG/intralipid treatment, so perhaps we can make a 3 day vacation out of it or something. Take some time to site-see.

I’m looking forward to our date night tonight! We have been having so much fun together lately – just trying not to focus much on stressful things or TTC. Life feels so much peaceful and easier all around. Things still suck in the infertility department, but everything is great otherwise. This is definitely a good place to be in, because I know we can face whatever challenges come next. Even though I’m a little bored and anxious, I know the break has done me (and hubby) a lot of good. I feel recharged and have more fight in me. My mood & TTC frame of mind rubs off on Andy a lot more than I realized, too. Have you noticed that with your hubbies? It’s like he and I are cycle buddies with PMS and all together. πŸ˜‰

The fear does lessen, and the determination kicks in and takes over. What a relief. Sometimes I worry I won’t bounce back, but I’m so thankful that I always do somehow.

I know you all have a lot of courage, too. Even if you don’t see it – I see it in you. Your strength gives me hope. β™₯ Time does help heal the pain. I have faith for all of us.

9 thoughts on “Insomnia, hunger, and date night

  1. Lol @ all geeky w/ Game of Thrones! Do it, it’s fun!!! πŸ™‚ I’m re-reading the books now… double geekdom!

    I hear ya w/ the insomnia and hunger! And peeing. Like you said, I think it’s a great sign that your progesterone is nice and high!

    Enjoy your date night tonight! The Hunger Games movie was awesome! I’m sure you’ll enjoy it πŸ™‚

  2. Just wanted to say that I loveddd The Hunger Games, and my husband lovess Game of Thrones. While I did not read the books, we are watching the show and it is good. It is super graphic though, so I shield my eyes a lot!

  3. Have fun on your date night tonight.

    Sorry to hear that the Lovenox is treating you so badly. 😦 I *hate* the stuff, but I know what you mean about being willing to put up with it for a baby in the end. (((Hugs)))

  4. I loved the hunger games!! (Books and movie!!) I couldn’t get M to read the books but he did admit to liking the movie πŸ˜‰ I heard game of thrones is great too! Not a bad trade-off for you and hubs!

    I’m sorry the drugs are causing such annoying side-effects. I know it is going to be worth it for you in the end though!!

    Hope you had a fun date night!

  5. I can’t wait to hear what you think of the Hunger Games movie. I loved the book and thought they did a really good job with the movie. I think they did a great job casting the main characters.

Leave a Reply

