It doesn’t end here.

Today is the last day of National Infertility Awareness Week. Unfortunately, for those who suffer from infertility, it doesn’t end here. This is something we have to deal with on a daily basis. Month after month, 365 days a year, year after year. With each new person we tell about our disease, we either cringe at what they say or find comfort in their support. We have enough burdens to bear. I think it’s up to you, as friends and family, to use these tools we’ve provided this week to educate yourself. Find ways to support us, give us a shoulder to cry on, pray for us, think about what you say & how you say it, and remind us that you care. Even little things make a big difference. We will appreciate it so much, I promise.

Thank you so much to everyone who has participated this week, showed support, acknowledged my many Facebook and/or blog posts, and made an effort to understand & learn about infertility. I actually have 2 Facebook profiles. One is my “regular” Facebook profile, with friends in real life, family, coworkers, high school and college classmates, acquaintances, etc. The other is my “TTC” Facebook profile, with mostly people I know from twoweekwait.com (for privacy). Although, I have added a few choice friends from real life who understand infertility and don’t mind me talking about super private things like EWCM/BD/Pee sticks/etc (LOL). I used to have a public “TTC” page, but I removed it & prefer to keep things a little more low-key now. If you would like to be added to my private profile, let me know. ๐Ÿ™‚

The girls on my “TTC” Facebook profile have been amazing at showing their support for the cause. Some of them aren’t infertile, but they are very understanding and supportive. Love you! I love my bloggy buddies, too! You guys rock! ๐Ÿ˜€ Thank you all for your awesomeness.

I’m pretty disappointed and hurt by the lack of support from people from my “regular” Facebook profile though. I only had 6 people acknowledge my posts. SIX – that’s adding up the TOTAL of likes/comments for ALL of my posts. I guess that’s better than none. I felt kind of defeated and like the time and energy I put into my posts were sort of a waste. I was hoping to make more of an impact and do something important for the cause. My goal was to reach just a FEW more people – maybe people who haven’t heard much about infertility. I wanted more people to support the Family Act of 2011, which seriously only takes a couple minutes to do. I shouldn’t have set my expectations too high (even though I wasn’t asking for much).

I will try not to take it personally. It’s just that after living in this dreadful infertility hell for over 3 years now….I thought more people that I care about would be interested in what’s going on with me or how they can help. People in real life that I can connect with in person!! I’m letting them in – letting them read all of my thoughts and feelings here on this blog. Even if my family and friends in real life don’t care about NIAW, don’t agree with fertility treatments, or are unsure of what to say – they can at least acknowledge my journey and show ME support. ME as a person, going through something difficult. I even provided resources on HOW they can support me. If there was something important to them, it would in turn be important to me because I care about them. Maybe some of them aren’t too happy with me or don’t feel close to me because I let infertility interfere with many of my relationships…I’m sorry, I really am…I’m trying to work on that currently. This is a way we could bond though. Anyway yes, I’m a little bit offended. It will pass though, and we’ll go on like we always have. Of course I still care for them, I’m just a little upset at the moment and needed to vent ๐Ÿ™‚

The important links once again:

  • Resolve.org: This site offers support to infertile couples, but it also provides resources & info for EVERYONE (not just infertile couple, but also family and friends)

  • Infertility Etiquette: This is a list of things you should or should NOT say to infertile people & ways you can support them.

  • Myths and Facts: Things you might not know about infertility and nice tidbits that clear up the misinformation out there.

  • Infertility 101: The basic facts about infertility.

  • The Family Act of 2011: This only takes a couple of minutes to do. It can help us afford fertility treatments. Here is my post about it – I added direct links to the Senators and Representatives.

5 thoughts on “It doesn’t end here.

  1. Aw, I’m sorry FB friends weren’t really friends this week. That sucks. I only posted 3 times about NIAW this week and while I got an enourmous amount of support, no male (except J) liked any of my posts…I thought that was interesting. Oh well, that’s men for ya! You got the info. out there, and that’s what matters. I know you are brave, and I’ll be here for all the good and bad!

    • Thanks Laura! I appreciate that. I’m so glad you got a good response. I know a lot of ladies who made quite an impact, so that makes me feel better that at least the word got out to people ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Thinking of you… and love your posts about awareness – there certainly needs to be more out there xo

  3. I am sorry that you didn’t get much support from your friends on FB. It is discouraging, I know. I think people are either afraid of infertility or just don’t understand it and avoiding the topic is easier than facing it. Does that make sense? It doesn’t make it RIGHT, though. I am not a blogger, but I read your posts. I am happy to know that you have your blog public again. I missed your posts!!! (I follow you on the TWW community boards).

    I am praying for you and hope that God blesses you with your heart’s desires!!!

Leave a Reply

