The best day! But a rough night

We had a wonderful day yesterday, celebrating our 10th anniversary. I felt so happy and content! When Andy woke up, he proceeded to serenade me with his guitar. He played our first dance song – “Yellow Ledbetter” by Pearl Jam. He also did a great rendition one of my favorite Mumford and Sons songs – “Little Lion Man”. He’s not that into Mumford and Sons, so he must have learned that one just for me. πŸ˜€

Then we exchanged gifts. Andy bought me the sweetest card and wrote in it about growing old together. “I look forward to whatever the future holds, as long has my future holds you.” (There was quite a bit more). I teared up a bit. His gift to me was a pretty watch. I’m not a big jewelry person, so I’m not all about “bling”. I really like this though – he did a good job!

I brought the memory box/chest to him, and he looked confused at first. I let him open it and go through it, but I kept the scrapbook for last. He was so surprised and wondering where I got all the precious mementos. I told him that I did purchase a few things, but most of the keep-sakes came from both of our shoeboxes and other places around the house. He was really impressed to see everything organized and excited to see things he hadn’t looked at for a long time – or even knew he still had!

The best part was the scrapbook. I had lots of photos, poems I had written to him, cards we exchanged, stats on his favorite sports teams, a list of our best memories, a list on the things I love about him, and much more. He kept saying “Oh my God” and “Wow” and “Awww”. πŸ˜€ He definitely teared up, especially because I paid special attention & made sure to preserve items from his mom’s life and funeral, as well as his best friend who passed. He was so thankful, and said it was the nicest gift he could ask for.

I expressed to him that I wanted to show how much I truly love him. When you’ve been with someone for a long time, it’s easy to get comfortable with them and not be so romantic anymore. Plus, we focus a lot on infertility and baby-making. I explained to him that he is more important to me than anything else – even a baby. We both promised to be more romantic and show how much we care.

Next, he surprised me by taking me to the best seafood restaurant in the city! It’s called Fisherman’s Wharf. Family owned and operated and all the food is freshly caught and prepared. The ambiance was beautiful and extravagant, and the servers were super friendly. I had the Shrimp Scampi with a buttery garlic sauce. It was amazing! The shrimp were freakin’ gigantic! I’ve never tasted such excellent seafood before. So fresh. Oh, and we had Calamari (squid) for an appetizer, and OoohEmmGee it was the best ever!

 

 

**TMI WARNING** You might not want to read this next part if you get grossed out about AF stuff. We came home after dinner, and AF was beginning to worsen. Suddenly, at 6pm, I couldn’t keep my eyes open. I ended up dozing on and off – between cramps – until about 8pm. That’s when the most awful, intense cramping started. I went to the bathroom shortly after that began, and I passed a whole bunch of large pieces of tissue and clots. It almost made me pass out. I curled up on the couch for a couple more hours and tried to watch Tv as a distraction. All I wanted to do was sleep, but I was in so much pain. I went to bed at 10pm, but I kept getting up and moving around, going to the bathroom, and feeling kind of sick. Finally at about 11pm, I broke down and took my last Vicodin from my surgery (I don’t like pain pills). It took about another 1.5 hours, but I fell into a fitful sleep. My cramps, bleeding, and huge clots kept coming, so I just gave up and stayed up at 6am. It’s not quite as bad so far (well the bleeding is, but not the pain)…However, the Vicodin might still be in my system a little, and I took some Ibuprofen a few hours ago. I hope today it’s more bearable. My AFs have been heavy since my surgery, but I suppose this one is worse due to my pregnancy. My lining must have been extremely thick, which is good…but dear God, help me. 😦

6 thoughts on “The best day! But a rough night

  1. I’m so glad you had such a lovely Aniversary and that Andy appreciated your gift so much. πŸ™‚

    I’m sorry AF got so painful. I hope you are over the hump for this time around.

  2. Wow, a great day and a terrible night side by side – bittersweet. I’m sorry AF was so awful – the Vicadin was probably a good idea. Hugs!

  3. I’m so sorry that you had such a bad AF… hope it passes soon. Wonderful that you had a lovely anniversary… sounds like you really care for each other – relationships are so hard during IF but yours sounds very strong πŸ™‚ xoxo

  4. What a terrible AF experience – I’m so sorry about this.

    Your anniversary sounds amazing! I’m so happy that the two of you took the time to do such special things for each other!!! And I love the Little Lion Man song – nice!

Leave a Reply

