Frustration with thyroid levels and Vitamin D3

The other day, I decided to look into my labs that the doctors told me were “normal”, and obtain my records. (Thank you, Biokatie from TWW for mentioning this idea πŸ™‚ ) I already know what my abnormal labs have been. You’d think you could trust a doctor when they tell you something is normal, but I guess not!

First of all, my thyroid levels are normal – they weren’t misleading about that. They’ve been checked about 4 times or so (sporadically – with long periods in between testing) over the last 3-4 years. They fluctuate a lot though. I read online that there are many reasons they can fluctuate. I feel curious though – if we checked them on a consistent basis, what would they look like? How much would they fluctuate? I seem to have every symptom of hyperthyroidism – especially here lately, and I swear I’m not a hypochondriac LOL. My T3 and T4 were only checked once in November 2011. They were normal, as well. I’d like to know what we might see if we checked them again.

What pissed me off is that I specifically asked to speak with my doctor about these labs and my concerns. The receptionist told me the doctor would call me back in between patients. The nurse called instead. She dismissed all my concerns and said we don’t need to explore any further into my thyroid levels since they were normal. I felt kinda silly then, but it’s just a frickin’ blood test! Can they not just appease me? I mean, we are thinking of moving onto donor embryo, so why can’t we fully explore everything first?

Of course, I don’t want anything ELSE to be wrong, but I want to make sure we have covered every.single.base. The nurse called me back after speaking with the doctor and said we would do a thyroid antibody test. Okay, at least that’s something. I don’t see why they can’t double-check my TSH, T3, and T4 while they’re at it. Sheesh. Whatever.

My other concern and what had been misleading – was that my primary care doctor had checked my Vitamin D3 in November 2011. She told me it was normal, but it was clearly marked in BOLD – LOW. Sure, it was slightly below the cut-off….but she knew I was already taking 5,000 units of D3….and it’s STILL LOW? Most things I read online say the level should be at 50, ideally. Mine was 29. My RE’s office wouldn’t have anything to do with it, and told me to check back with my primary care doctor. So I made an appt for 4/3/12. I am unsure if this doctor will do anything about it either, since she said it was normal before. I already bumped up my supplement to 10,000 units a couple days ago. Vitamin D is very important for fertility & overall health.

So yeah, from now on, I’m getting copies of all my stuff. Even when they say it’s normal. I know I’m always researching and delving into possibilities that might not mean anything….but we never would have found my Endo and Septum if we hadn’t explored things further.

As for my cycle, I am 4dpo/5dpiui…probably just going to go with 4dpo, so I don’t test too early. I’m going to see how long I can hold out, LOL. The hormones are kicking my butt. I haven’t been feeling great. Super hot flashes and just generally feeling icky. It will be worth it all though – hopefully!! πŸ˜€

14 thoughts on “Frustration with thyroid levels and Vitamin D3

  1. I’ve heard so much about vitamin D lately…I’d have to look back at my labs and see if I’ve had it tested. I may be calling my doctor about taking this too. Hoping the icky feeling is for good reason! Hoping, hoping, hoping for you!

  2. Good for you for being proactive about actually looking at your lab results yourself. It can be so hard to be one’s own advocate, especially when the doctors don’t want to run a test that would give you some peace of mind!

    I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed for you for this cycle. Good luck waiting to test!

  3. I hate hate hate how doctors and their associates try to be some sort of authority or keeper over OUR data, numbers and health. Yeah and if you take D supplements it really needs to be monitored because it can become toxic, so sounds like they need to check that more often. Way to advocate!!

  4. My endo always tells me normal…I say what are the numbers!?! I need to know…maybe the scientist in me. I am sure I annoy them.

    • haha thanks! Yes, I probably annoy them too. I’m a nurse, so I probably sound like a know-it-all! I don’t mean to, I just want to keep up on everything lol πŸ™‚

  5. Hrm… maybe you need to make more Vit D from the sun, maybe you are not absorbing supplements well? Remember UV has to be >3 to make Vitamin D. I know it is hard – try to get some sun on bare skin every day that has good UV? I don’t even know my level… maybe I should get it checked. Thankfully we are coming out of ‘vitamin D winter’ now, so it should be easier to get.

    • I’m definitely going to get some more sun πŸ™‚ Our winter was very nice and mild, so I’m surprised it even affected me much. Hopefully it will be back on track here soon.

  6. I don’t understand why doctors resist testing. Even if someone is a hypochondriac (not saying you are lol)…. still.. what’s it going to hurt to at least test something to even just rule it out? Ya know?
    At least they’re doing the antibody test I guess.

  7. How frustrating !! I admire you for following things up and doing your own research πŸ™‚ FXd for this cycle xoxo

  8. I am glad you looked things up! Always be an advocate for yourself!!! I always ask to see my numbers, I can just call the lab with my patient ID number any time to get them though. I should see about getting my Vitamin D checked. Praying for you, expecting good news in a little over a week!! Also, I wasn’t sure you were considering Donor Embryos…I am excited for you! If this doesn’t work out, I have a feeling the donor embryos will. One way or another your dream of being a mother and experiencing a healthy pregnancy will happen!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

