To keep the crazy away and to make me a better me

I have been mentioning a lot of changes lately. Changes in my appearance and weight, as well as changes in my thinking. I decided to make a couple of lists to post around in visible places, to remind myself of the good things. And to keep the crazy away 🙂 I came up with these on my own, by my therapist’s recommendation. Not too shabby, if I do say so myself. I think anyone could use these, and if you want to steal any of them, that’s totally cool with me! 🙂

Positive affirmations to post in bathroom (Look in the mirror and read out-loud):

I am beautiful

I am strong

I am confident

I am intelligent

I am a good wife, friend, daughter, sister, aunt

I am deserving of happiness

I am a problem solver

I am rich in finances

I am excellent with communication

I am successful at everything I put my mind to

I am always at ease

Reminders and stress relievers to post on fridge and desk at work:

Take deep breaths ~In through the nose, out through the mouth~

Be positive. Is this current train of thought making me feel better or worse?

Set myself up for success! Just because I have failed before, doesn’t mean I will always fail.

Be proud! Change takes a lot of effort and courage!

Treat myself – I am worth it!

Be present. This moment is all that exists. Yesterday is gone and tomorrow isn’t here yet.

Be aware. What is hurtful or difficult to others may differ from what is hurtful and difficult to me (and vice-verse).

Choose my battles. Is it so important that it’s worth fighting for?

Time out. If I’m hurt or angry, I will consider how I’m feeling (and why) before reacting – if a reaction is warranted.

Stick up for myself (if needed), but don’t cause unnecessary drama. Sometimes it’s best to brush it off, but don’t be a doormat.

Sleep on it! What is a huge issue today, might seem a lot smaller tomorrow!

Be myself, and don’t worry about what others think. The people who truly matter will love me for me & always be there for me.

Be kind, don’t whine. There are always others who have it (a lot) worse than me.

Let it allllll out (privately or with a trusted friend, therapist, spouse – depending on the situation). Just don’t take it out ON others.

Everyone has bills! Instead of stressing, I will try to form a plan of action.

Forgive and forget. If I can’t, then I’ll find some way to move on and up!

Love myself, with faults and all. I am unique!

Focus on my relationships and quality time with loved ones.

Thank God everyday for the blessings I have, even when especially when I’m feeling down.

PUT DOWN THE PEE STICKS! Testing early will just be ambiguous and more worrisome.

2 thoughts on “To keep the crazy away and to make me a better me

Leave a Reply

