Still in disbelief…and thankful!

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m still in shock and disbelief that we may have finally found the reason for our fertility problems and multiple losses. I have been examined and tested by my OB/GYN and 3 Reproductive Endocrinologists over the last few years. We have been through several medicated cycles, 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, 8 miscarriages, multitudes of testing, and most recently we were told I would never be able to carry a child. Something HUGE had been missed all this time!!! Now we have hope again, and I’m so thankful!

I would highly recommend considering a Laparoscopy if you have not had one. And PLEASE friends – get a 2nd opinion, or 3rd, or 4th! We wondered if something could be wrong with my lady parts, but my HSG was “all clear” 2 years ago. Little did we know, I had Stage II Endometriosis throughout my uterus, scar tissue on my right ovary, and a congenital defect in my uterus – a Septate Uterus. The septum should have been caught by my previous doctor during the HSG. I really had no reason to think I needed a Lap, but my doctor suggested we try it as a last resort – even if it was to rule things out. I never expected to find so many answers as to why we kept miscarrying! Uterine septums are a major factor in early losses. The surgery was a complete success. Everything was removed/repaired, and my doctor has confidence that we will successfully conceive.

I do believe the autoimmune issues that Dr. Sher found have merit. However, if he had known that my HSG was wrong (and that I had Endo & a uterine defect), I don’t think he would have jumped to the conclusion that I cannot carry a child. All the pieces of the puzzle are coming together now. I see Dr. Kwak-Kim in January, which is when we’ll be able to resume TTC, so it will be perfect timing. We have already resolved one huge problem – with my recent surgery, so all that’s left is to tackle the autoimmune aspect (which might actually not be as huge of a contributing factor that we first thought).

I CANNOT WAIT FOR 2012!!!!!!!!!!

 

14 thoughts on “Still in disbelief…and thankful!

  1. Oh wow! What a gigantic relief this must be!!! You can absolutely carry a child! What a glorious thing to be thankful for! May you have a fantastic turkey day. 😀

  2. I am hopeful with Jamie!! WooHoo! Here’s to blessings in your future! I am so happy for you, tears come to my eyes. I am glad they finally have found a missing puzzle piece to your ttc journey.

  3. Lisa, you and I were on the pregnancy boards with our 2011 October babies 🙂 I check your blog all the time and was SO excited to see this post last night!!!! I totally agree with Jamie, here’s to a 2012 Thanksgiving baby 🙂 Glad you had such a great Thanksgiving.

  4. My best friend had been through 5 IVFs and lost many pregnancies including twins twice. She finally had surgery and found out she had a septate uterus. Got that fixed and her next cycle of IVF she conceived a beautiful little girl who is now 2. She had to do IVF because he husband has CF and his sperm had to be matured in the lab. But she was so upset and happy all at the same time that she finally had a real answer to why she couldn’t hold a pregnancy. I really think that you are going to get your take home baby. Happy Thanksgiving! So much to be thankful for. To 2012!!!

  5. I am so happy for you, Lisa. I have been following your story for the past four months on here and on TWW (I’m Lulubee). I am thrilled that you have got these answers and hopefully finally got to the bottom of all this. My heart goes out to you and, like the other responders, I feel certain you’ll have your 2012 take home baby!

  6. Excuse my language, but that is SO fucking exciting!!!
    I mean we all obviously hope to be healthy, but for them to have found something that is easily fixable like that and well, fix it. AWESOME!!!!! You are gonna get that sticky bean and take home baby!

  7. This is wonderful news, Lisa. I have been following your blog for a while and have been sad for you and Andy after Dr Sher’s diagnosis. If this defect is what caused your chemicals, I am confident that you will be successful in 2012.

  8. I’m so happy for you guys!!!! In a way it must be a little frustrating though because it was missed back when you had your 1st HSG but in the end everything is working out and I’m so happy for you!!! 2012 is going to be a great year!!!!

  9. Hi there, here from ICLW. It’s incredible how much oyu had to go through just because a doctor didn’t bother to think beyond his doorstop.
    I’m totally rooting for you and hope that 2012 will now be your charmed year!

Leave a Reply

