Lap questions

My Lap is coming up on November 22nd. I have some questions for those who have gone through it. Thanks in advance for your help! 🙂

  • How long was your recovery time? They told me a few days. I’m having surgery a few days before Thanksgiving, so I hope I don’t feel like poo for the holiday. It was the best time for me to take off work though.
  • Did you BD soon after? I’m sure the doctor will have a recommended time of abstinence, but did you follow their recommendations?
  • Did it affect your cycles or ovulation?
  • Would you recommend laxatives? Did it hurt to strain?
  • Did you bleed like an AF? Was it heavy? Were you crampy?
  • What medications did you take for pain? OTC or prescription?
  • How was the pain on a scale of 1-10, with 10 being the worst?
  • Did they find something? Were they able to tell you right away what the results were?
  • Did it help your fertility or did they tell you it would? If you got pregnant, how long after the Lap did you conceive?
  • Do you have a scar?

I think that’s all I have for now 🙂 I don’t even feel nervous about it (at least not yet!) I don’t know if it will help our fertility, but I need to know if there’s something going on in there.

19 thoughts on “Lap questions

  1. First off let me start by saying I think its different for everyone and I think it also depends on how much they find, have to remove, or fix!
    For me they had quite a bit of work to do in there.

    My recovery was about a week for me to feel completely back to normal. I think I started working again after 4 days.

    I think my doc said when I felt like I could bd I could but to listen to my body. I think we bd 2weeks after. It was very uncomfortable!

    It did affect my cycle bc i was put on meds to stop ovulation.

    Did bleed, a little heavy the first few days then spotted a while:(
    Was crampy for a few weeks.

    Pain meds were given for the first few days. Then otc.

    Pain for me was TERRIBLE the first 3 days! It was gas pain more than lower stomach pain. They say only 50% of people get it. Hope you dont! It felt like I was having a heart attack when I sat up and had horrible shoulder pain.

    Yes they found endo, scar tissue and that one of my ovarys and tubes couldnt function. All was removed/fixed. Was told as soon as I woke up. Also more in depth a week later with follow up with dr.

    I think it may have helped with my fertility. I can O from both sides now and the pain I had before was so much better for about 9months.

    I do have two tiny scars. Theyre not very noticeable anymore. Use scar cream!

    Hope this helps. Even though it was painful Im glad i did it. Its good to know!!! Praying for you!!!

  2. Ok, since I’m only a week out a lot of this is reallllllly fresh 🙂
    How long was your recovery time? They said a few days for me too- I was off work Wednesday (day of surgery) through Sunday. I needed it! I got knocked on my butt for sure! Yesterday 7 days after I felt really normal, although my lowest incision is sore.
    Did you BD soon after? No way. We’re waiting until I start a new cycle. I had surgery right before ovulation and there was no way it was going to happen. Too sore.
    Did it affect your cycles or ovulation? I’m not sure if I ovulated or not, because I was bleeding a few days after. I did have EWCM after, but it was mixed with spotting. We’ll see how my cycle length is in a couple weeks.
    Would you recommend laxatives? Did it hurt to strain? Yes. I took Gas-X too a couple times after, but she seemed to have gotten a lot of it out, but I still had some work to do 🙂 I just took a stool softener for several days and I don’t know how much that helped, because it did hurt to strain. Laxatives may help more. I was pretty sore in the other area too for a couple days. Peeing took a long time because I couldn’t push it out. Sorry for TMI 🙂
    Did you bleed like an AF? Was it heavy? Were you crampy? I bled the most the day of and after surgery, but it was not heavy like my AF. After that, it was like a light flow/ spotty for a couple days.
    What medications did you take for pain? OTC or prescription? They gave me Tylenol 3 with Codeine and 600mg Motrin. I took 2 Tylenol and 1 Motrin every 4 to6-ish hours for 2 days then just Motrin a couple times a day for the following 4 days.
    How was the pain on a scale of 1-10, with 10 being the worst? It wasn’t that bad, (prob. a 6 out of surgery- I was super crampy) but once I left the hospital I never let it hurt before I took something.
    Did they find something? Were they able to tell you right away what the results were? They found several spots of Endo which she lasered, a possible infection in my uterus and a slightly poly-cycstic ovary. My tubes were open and everything else looked as it should. The Dr. met with my mom and hubby right after surgery and went over the pictures she took and everything. I saw her the next day for a follow-up (not ideal, but we’re almost 2 hours away from the Dr.)
    Did it help your fertility or did they tell you it would? Dr. said lasering the Endo. was huge and will greatly improve my fertility. We will continue our meds, and injections next cycle with a 70% chance of conceiving over the next 1-2 yrs.
    Do you have a scar? We’ll see! My belly button is finally starting to look more normal and the The middle incision is really small and the lowest one (below my pantyline is the biggest one. Probably the size of a quarter.)

  3. •How long was your recovery time? They told me a few days. I’m having surgery a few days before Thanksgiving, so I hope I don’t feel like poo for the holiday. It was the best time for me to take off work though.
    A few days sounds right. I had my surgery Friday morning. That day was pretty rough, I was really nauseas from the anesthesia and needed help sitting and standing. I walked hunched over that day. The gas pain in my shoulders was pretty bad. By Saturday, I still needed help getting up, but I could walk normally and the gas pains were gone. I worked a half day on Monday and was back to full time by Tuesday, feeling fine.

    •Did you BD soon after? I’m sure the doctor will have a recommended time of abstinence, but did you follow their recommendations?
    Doc said we could BD in 3-4 days. We BD’d 4 days after.

    •Did it affect your cycles or ovulation?
    Nope…I still had crappy long cycles and irregular ovulation. :p

    •Would you recommend laxatives? Did it hurt to strain?
    Didn’t even think of laxatives. It doesn’t seem like I had any problems, though. Since I was so nauseas the first day I didn’t eat much during the time that recovery was worst. I don’t remember having a problem going.

    •Did you bleed like an AF? Was it heavy? Were you crampy?
    I bled for three days. It was heavy for the first day and then light–not at all like a regular AF for me. I was very crampy, though.

    •What medications did you take for pain? OTC or prescription?
    I had prescription meds, but I don’t remember what. By Sunday, I wasn’t taking anything.

    •How was the pain on a scale of 1-10, with 10 being the worst?
    4

    •Did they find something? Were they able to tell you right away what the results were?
    They did tell me right away what my results were, though I was loopy and got more out of the post op the following week. They were able to clear my blocked tube rather than removing it (the reason I went in), and they found endometriosis.

    •Did it help your fertility or did they tell you it would? If you got pregnant, how long after the Lap did you conceive?
    I assume it did help my fertility since I left with cauterized endo and two open tubes. It did take me another 10 months to conceive afterwards, though (we’d been trying 16 months at the time of the surgery)

    •Do you have a scar?
    I had a scar on my bikini line and in my belly button. Within a few months, the belly button one wasn’t visible, though the bikini line was still purple. Now, 2 years after surgery, the pelvic one is very small and kind of a tannish color

    Good luck, Lisa! I hope this helps!

  4. Ok so here we go:
    Recovery time: I was functional about 3 days after, but it took me a couple of weeks to get back to 100%.
    BD: We waited about 10 days, should have waited longer. I had a combo hysteroscopy + lap and it hurt 😦
    Cycles: I think it definitely affected my cycles – I O’ed sooner after my lap. The first cycle after I popped on CD 17 and the second cycle it’ was CD 14 – and that cycle is what got me my BFP.
    Meds: OTC – extra strength was enough. Most of the pain was from the gas they pumped in, and pain meds didn’t help much there – it was more hot compresses. The major pain actually came 2 days after the lap.
    With everything I’ve been through my pain threshold has gone way up, so I may not be objective. I would say 8 at its worst.
    They removed my left tube and opened up adhesions by my right tube. As soon as I woke up the doc went through everything with me and the hubby. I was really doped up so I don’t remember a thing. Make sure to tell the hubs to take notes!
    Did it help my fertility? Well – I’m knocked up in the right place, so I guess so! My issue is repeat ectopics though so I’m not sure how relevant that is to you… I had my lap early august and conceived mid-september.
    Scar – the two incisions on my stomach and belly button are almost non-existent. The one on my upper pelvis is still alive and kicking. It’s getting better tho, so I assume it’ll barely be noticeable eventually.
    That’s about it – hope that helps! I hope that this lap gives you some much deserved answers!

  5. I haven’t had the lap before, but glad others here can provide feedback. I don’t know how to get you on my blog roll now that your wordpress, any ideas?

  6. How long was your recovery time?
    I think my surgery was on Thurs and I went back to work the following Weds. The discomfort was much better by Mon, but I chose to stay home and rest because my job is decently physically demanding.
    Did you BD soon after? I’m sure the doctor will have a recommended time of abstinence, but did you follow their recommendations?
    My lap was 9dpo or so, I don’t remember what the BD restrictions were, but we got back to business with the next cycle with no bd-related discomfort.
    Did it affect your cycles or ovulation?
    No. Everything continued as usual.

    Would you recommend laxatives? Did it hurt to strain?
    The pre-surgery prep involved laxatives and A LOT of time in the bathroom. A stool softener for afterwards is prob not a bad idea.

    Did you bleed like an AF? Was it heavy? Were you crampy?
    It wasn’t any different than pre-lap.

    What medications did you take for pain? OTC or prescription?
    I took 1 lortab one night when I was having problems sleeping. It really didn’t help. I managed the rest of the time with 800-mg ibuprofen. The discomfort was mostly related to the gas that they use to inflate your abdomen during the surgery. It caused discomfort in my back/shoulders. They told me to sleep propped up on several pillows for a few days post-surgery to help with that (I believe that was the reason anyway). I ended up asking for something to help me sleep at my post-op appt because I kept having nightmares. Once I was able to get a few good nights of sleep I felt much better. Asking for a rx to help you sleep may not be a bad idea especially if you aren’t one to take pain meds. I hate the way any pain meds make me feel.

    How was the pain on a scale of 1-10, with 10 being the worst?
    When they wheeled me out of the OR I remember saying “OWWWW” and the anesthesiologist was right by the bed and immediately gave me something in the IV that instantly took the pain away. The rest of day of the surgery the discomfort was maybe a 4? The gas-related pains that started soon after the surgery weren’t constant but were more like sharp/super annoying, but still manageable (maybe a 5-6). After 3-4 days the discomfort was more like a 2-3 then a week later I was back to normal.

    Did they find something? Were they able to tell you right away what the results were?
    Minimal endo on both ovaries and my uterus. Dr. showed my husband pics of before and after immediately following the surgery while I was in recovery. He showed me the same pics at my post-op.

    Did it help your fertility or did they tell you it would? If you got pregnant, how long after the Lap did you conceive?
    I had 6 cp’s/early m/c’s in the 18 months prior to the lap. The cycle immediately after the lap I got pregnant and am now 40 weeks exactly. All my RPL b/w and hsg had been normal, so I 100% credit the lap.

    Do you have a scar?
    It’s about 1/2 inch long. Hardly noticeable unless you’re looking.

    Good luck! It’s really not too bad and 110% worth it in my opinion!

  7. Hi Lisa,

    I just had a lap this past October. Here are my answers to your questions.

    1. My recovery time was a week to feel fully functional (my surgery was on a Tuesday and I took the rest of the week off work and returned the Monday after the weekend)

    2. The doc told me a week to BD and the hospital said two weeks. I waited two weeks to stay on the safe side.

    3. It did not affect my cycle I ovulated when I normally do

    4. I did not even think to take laxatives although I probably should have! Yes it did hurt to strain. I didn’t do #2 for at least four days after the surgery. I also was not peeing much even though I was drinking water by the gallons.

    5. I spotted lightly for a few days afterward and mostly when I peed. It wasn’t crampy and not like a full af.

    6. They gave me percocets for the pain and they worked like a dream. I only took them for the
    first couple of nights after the surgery.

    7. My pain was about a five. It hurt but it was not excrutiating. The incision sites hurt and I just mostly felt sore on the inside, like someone had punched me in the stomach a few times. Also, you get bloated BC of
    all the gas they put inside of you and that takes a few days to resolve itself.

    8. They found stage two endo in me, it was on my uterus and behind an ovary. The doc told my mom what he found while I was still passed out but I didn’t get a full explanation
    until my post op a week later.

    9. The doc told me that endo does affect your fertility and that 40 to 50 percent of his patients will get pregnant within six months of the lap and removal of endo. So now he instructed us to try naturally for six months and if nothing I have to proceed with ivf (we’ve been trying for two years and I have failed three rounds of clomid plus iui) I honestly would have gone straight to ivf after the iuis but my insurance does not cover it 😦

    9. I am about a month since the surgery and my belly button has really no evidence of the surgery however my lower incision is still red and visible.

    Hope this info helps. Good luck on your surgery I think you are doing the right thing and I hope it will take you one step closer to your baby!

  8. My 2 cents:
    1. I had surgery on a thursday and was back at work monday, 1 full week back in the gym
    2. very little bleeding
    3. pain was moderate, I got away with advil for pain management, more than anything I was really tired from the anesthesia
    4. no scars, although I assume there are scars inside of my belly button
    5. I remember waking up in recovery and being in a lot of pain, they gave me IV morphine and that helped a ton- I stayed in recovery longer than usual b/c of this
    good luck to you!!

  9. I’m excited for you to have the lap and get the questions answered!

    For mine they had me do a bowel prep which was the worst part of the whole thing! They told me the results right away, endo and 1 really bad tube and ovary, they explained it more to my mom so she could tell me when I was more lucid.
    I ate a lot of turkey soup and slept alot. Bring a pillow to the hospital so you can push it on your belly to get up and down and to cough/sneeze. For pain I took vicodin for the first 3 days, then I was totally fine. Most of the pain was the bubbly shoulder pain and just uncomfortable. I did bleed alot and they said at least 2 weeks of pelvic rest, but I could not have had sex before two weeks!
    I was fine to go back to work about 3 days after but I still wasn’t comfortable wearing work pants, mostly just yoga pants.
    They told me it would help my fertility but it didnt’ work. We did our first IVF 1 year later, then our next 3 months later which is where this bean came from!
    You can always email me if you have more questions!

  10. I haven’t had a lap, so I can’t offer any answers, but I wanted to wish you luck! I hope it goes well, that you recover quickly and that it helps you realize your dream! (Or at least gives you some answers)

  11. • How long was your recovery time? Mine was on a friday and I was back at work the following Wednesday. I could have gone on Tuesday, but I really was enjoying just being at home 🙂
    • Did you BD soon after? I’m sure the doctor will have a recommended time of abstinence, but did you follow their recommendations? I think we waited a few weeks. I can’t remember.
    • Did it affect your cycles or ovulation? No, it did not. I charted through it and no affect.
    • Would you recommend laxatives? Did it hurt to strain? No and no.
    • Did you bleed like an AF? Was it heavy? Were you crampy? No and no. It was more liquidy and eggwhite consistency with some blood. Maybe for 3 or 4 days.
    • What medications did you take for pain? OTC or prescription? I tried the vicodin but it made me nauseous. So I just took some acetaminophen for a few days. Not bad pain at all.
    • How was the pain on a scale of 1-10, with 10 being the worst? 4 ish?
    • Did they find something? Were they able to tell you right away what the results were? Yes, they found two small areas of endo. Well one actually and the other just some inflammatory tissue. The Dr told my DH about it and then we went back for a follow up visit in about a month to review it.
    • Did it help your fertility or did they tell you it would? If you got pregnant, how long after the Lap did you conceive? No, it did not help my fertility and the RE who performed it doesn’t believe that endo affects infertility, but I convinced him to do it anyways, even though I ended up only having one very very small spot
    • Do you have a scar? I had 3 small incisions (one near my belly button and 2 down near my pubic bone. They are almost invisible now. I had to look hard to find them.

    All in all, it was very easy recover with about 3 days in the bed, but I did get up and walk around the house each day for a bit. I didn’t experience the gas pain in the shoulders that some do. My dog, my knitting and my hubby kept me company and tended to me. Rest and following the Dr’s orders on pain meds and activity I think are the best idea. Good luck!!! It’s a piece of cake. I promise 🙂

  12. My lap was in May 2010 so lets see how much I can remember hehe!

    How long was your recovery time? The first 4 days were the worst for me.

    Did you BD soon after? I think a few weeks later

    Did it affect your cycles or ovulation? It started Af sooner for me. I wasn’t due for another week and I started day 2 after surgery. Normal cycle even with it starting early though. O’d right on time.

    Would you recommend laxatives? Did it hurt to strain? I didn’t take any. I was bloated and sore so that was not comfy but I believe I was able to go about 3 days after? So, i’m sure they would help!

    Did you bleed like an AF? First night I had some light spotting. Next day AF arrived early.

    What medications did you take for pain? OTC or prescription? They gave me a script but I can’t remember what it was.

    How was the pain on a scale of 1-10, with 10 being the worst? There was a point where the pain in my shoulders shot to my lung while trying to lie down and it about KILLED me. I screamed and then bursted into tears which didn’t help b/c I couldn’t breath! That was a 10+ on pain. Other than that prolly 7-8 was the worst when trying to move those first 2 days. I recommend using a heating pad on your tummy because it helped me feel much better while lying around. After my episode with the air bubble towards my lung I decided not to lie down to sleep – I sat up and slept for 5 days or so! lol

    Did they find something? Were they able to tell you right away what the results were? We already knew both ovaries were covered in cysts but they also found a growth on my left ovary that luckily wasn’t cancerous. She took it off and did another HSG while in there. She didn’t talk to me until my check up but she told my DH and mom things went well. Also found no endo.

    Did it help your fertility or did they tell you it would? If you got pregnant, how long after the Lap did you conceive? They said it was possible that it would help within that first 6 months, the first 3 being the best chances but we ended up having to do IVF later on that year.

    Do you have a scar? Yes but super small. It looks like one of the wrinkles to my belly button lol. No one would ever notice it. When I look it even looks like a tiny slit from me cutting my arm or something similar.

    GOOD LUCK GIRL!!!

  13. I ended up taking a week off with my lap, I felt like my insides were just “not right”. I had some endo removed and I stayed on pain meds for 3-4 days. I did bleed a bit, but it wasn’t too bad. As far as BD, i remember the discharge instructions specifically saying, “nothing in the vagina for 2 weeks.” Your Dr may have specific instructions for you. I did my lap early in my cycle and it ended up resetting the cycle and I ovulated much later than normal. Yes, I have several tiny scars

  14. I was out of commission for a couple of weeks but I am a baby when it comes to not feeling well. They did find endo and told my husband about it the day of the surgery. They said it would help my fertility but obviously that must have not been my only problem because I haven’t gotten pregnant since and I had it done a year and a half ago. Hope you have a better outcome. My sister-in-law had it done and got pregnant with my niece the next month. Hope that happens to you too!

  15. Hey Lisa. I had a lap last August and they also did the dye in my tubes and and a hysteroscopy. I felt great after the procedure! I took one day to stay in bed and rest and I was up and shopping with friends all day the day after that. I don’t have a scar that I am aware of. Our Dr. said we could BD as soon as I felt up to it-that ended up being 3 days after the procedure just because DH was afraid he would hurt me. They found endo and removed it and also that my tubes were blocked. I didn’t have any side effects from the anesthesia so I think I got lucky! Good luck to you!

Leave a Reply

