Dr. Sher Results: Completely Devastated

I am shaking and crying right now. I wanted answers, but I never thought it would be so terrible. Completely devastated does not even explain how I feel.

Dr. Sher says I have the most profound autoimmune issues that you can get. First, I have Natural Killer Cells. I also have “Complete Alloimmune Implantation Dysfunction”. Next – and this is rare – Andy and I are a complete match with our genetic tests. This is NOT a good thing. Since his sperm and my eggs are so similar, my body will destroy the embryo every time because of my autoimmune issues. We will never get past a chemical pregnancy.

We only have a couple options and they are not good! 😦 😦
1. Use a surrogate with my eggs and Andy’s sperm because the surrogate’s uterus would not attack the similar genetic material like mine would.
2. Use donor sperm with my eggs (in my uterus) via IVF + intralipid therapy to calm my autoimmune problems – but he says this is a long shot that probably still won’t work due to the severity of my problem.

We will NEVER have a baby of our own biological make up unless we use a surrogate. I will probably NEVER carry a baby because it’s such a long shot.

He said we need to do something NOW because time is running out and menopause is approaching. We can’t do anything now.

And I DON’T want these options 😦 😦 WHY?!?!! This has to be some terrible nightmare. Wake me up. FUCK. It’s real. I just told Andy, and we are both heartbroken. Even he’s crying.

91 thoughts on “Dr. Sher Results: Completely Devastated

  1. Sending hugs and good thoughts your way. I’m so sad to see you so sad… Regardless of options it must be heartbreaking and such a difficult thing to hear. Will be thinking of you and hoping you find a bit of peace soon.

  2. Oh Lisa I am so terribly sorry. I am truly saddened to see this is happening to you and your husband. I don’t go on tww anymore but thought I would stop in to check on you. You are both in my thoughts and prayers….I am so sorry.

  3. I do not believe this Dr. Sher thing. Pregnancy is such a complicated process, God-given gift. I think you need to calm down and just keep trying w/o drugs and eventually you will get PG. Many women were told horrible ds and they got PG eventually. I believe you will too. When? That is the hard part. Just try to let it go, take your mind off TTC and you will get your baby.

  4. Offering you prayers. I’ve been following you for years on TWW but have only lurked on your blog.

    I hope that with all God’s speed that you hold your baby in your arms soon.

  5. Pingback: What a wild ride « The Pursuit of Pregnancy

  6. Pingback: Goodbye 2011 ~ Hello 2012! « The Pursuit of Pregnancy

  7. Lisa, I am so sorry to hear your news. Thats a very sucky diagnosis and your devastation is totally understandable. I hope you can find a way around it to get the family you and Andy dream of. xxx

  8. Pingback: Week 36 Update | The Pursuit of Pregnancy

Leave a Reply

