What a nice weekend

This past weekend was SO nice! I realized that I did more – socially and otherwise – than I’ve done for a long time. I guess I’ve been pretty down for awhile and not feeling up to doing a whole lot. I’m glad I crawled out from under my rock and lived a little ๐Ÿ™‚

My mom and her husband came to visit on Saturday. We went out to dinner and chatted. It was fun. My mom sent me a text yesterday though, saying she sensed I was depressed. That kind of surprised me. I know I haven’t been myself, but I thought I was hiding it well! I actually thought I was acting pretty upbeat on Saturday when they were here. I guess moms always know though. (And I’m not trying to hide my feeling all the time or anything – I just don’t want to be a downer every single day).

Then yesterday, we went out for coffee with a real infertile couple! I met them through my friend in an online buddy group. They just moved to my city, so I gave them the scoop on fertility clinics and other places around town. They were so sweet and grateful for our help. There was something therapeutic about meeting in person – face to face – and discussing our struggles with infertility. Mostly, I’ve spoken to people online – which is great – but it’s different. I think we all felt good/empowered/understood/validated afterward. Plus, they haven’t really told ANYONE yet about their issues. We are open about our problems, but I remember what it felt like before we told people. It’s hard being alone in it all…..I STILL feel somewhat alone in it all.

Other than that, I felt like hubby and I spent some good quality time together, I read a book, I cleaned the whole house, and just kept busy. Maybe I’m on my way to doing better and living a more normal life again. ๐Ÿ™‚

5 thoughts on “What a nice weekend

  1. Sounds like an awesome weekend. Glad you got some down time for fun stuff! Feels great when you can cut loose every once in a while, huh? I was wild on Saturday and had *gasp* two beers and a glass of sangria ๐Ÿ™‚ Livin’ on the edge!

  2. So glad you had a nice weekend! I love that you can help another IF couple. It’s good to pass on the information you have learned. You deserve this time of peace!

  3. That’s awesome that you had such a great weekend!
    I wish I knew another infertile couple IRL. Just someone we could talk to face to face that understands exactly what we’re going through and how we feel.
    I bet that was a great ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

