More thoughts on the Lap and yesterday’s post

Thank you everyone for your support and advice.

I’ll definitely weigh the pros and cons before deciding on the Lap. I specifically asked for a less invasive procedure (HSG or SHG), but my doc recommended the Lap. I didn’t get to ask him why exactly, since he was too busy to speak to me. I will follow up with him at some point.

I think my doc is hoping that there is some Endo or perhaps a polyp or fibroid or SOMETHING that would get in the way of implantation, causing all these chemical pregnancies. The nurse said he thought it would be best because they could find and remove any abnormalities. Although, there might not be anything there – so I am hesitant to do it.

I am leaning toward getting the surgery. One reason is that I would probably always wonder if we should have done it, if we don’t. I would rather not have any regrets or suspicions. Then again, it IS surgery, which is serious business (no matter if it’s minor or major) and it’s costly.

I don’t have to decide anything yet though. And who knows, maybe my test results from Dr. Sher will actually reveal something new and important. Or maybe I should speak to a new RE to get a fresh perspective altogether.

We may not ever find another reason for my numerous early losses. It may very well be poor egg quality. I guess I want to exhaust every avenue before either giving up, using donor eggs/embryos, or whatever other paths we could go down in the future.

I’m going to do my best to relax for awhile. Someone asked if I had tried acupuncture – yep, we have tried it all πŸ™‚ Although I should be doing acupuncture more regularly, I can’t afford to right now. Another person asked about IRH in Cincinnati. I think they are pretty good for the most part. I got treated a lot better during my IVF cycle than I am now. I’m consulting with Dr. Sher because he is one of the best docs in the country – and it’s free πŸ™‚ (except for the testing) http://www.haveababy.com

Oh, and someone commented on one of my recent posts about understanding that doctors (Dr. Sher specifically) are very busy. I know that, and I don’t mean to sound ungrateful for their help and expertise. It’s just right now especially, I’m so desperate and depressed about my losses and failed cycles. I don’t have much patience left. I have also paid out a TON of money for testing and other things lately, so that also adds to my frustration of not being able to speak with anyone.

13 thoughts on “More thoughts on the Lap and yesterday’s post

  1. first, I had a lap in the past- please let me know if you have questions. I found it to be not that bad.Second, I would bempissed that this was suggested and not really explained. That is not ok. It is also not ok that you are not getting call backs. dr's are busy, I get that. But communicating with your patients is part of your job and if you have too many patients to fully take good care of then you are not doing your job- simple as that. You deserve more

  2. Hey Lisa. I had the lap way back in the begining of my IF journey. The reasoning I latched onto is that it is not just a test but a solution. When you are dealing with hsg's and sonohystograms and that sort you can see things to a certain extent. And then afterwards there is a long conversation about what to do and pay for next. With the lap they can see absolutely everything AND if they find tourble they will fix it right then while you are out. they can pull out polyps, remove bad endo, clear adhesions, check the uterus and shoot blue dye through your tubes. It's like 4 or 5 things rolled into one. I also understand your reluctance though. Because if they don't find anything wrong, you've had your body opened up for no reason. So take your time and think about it. But i was just sharing my experience and letting you know it was fine for me. And the recovery time was extremely minimal despute having my tubes removed during the procedure. (they didn't surprise me withthat, lol, we knew going in that was a strong possibility)

  3. Lisa, I am not at all suggesting that you don't have a right to be frustrated with doctors that are too busy to speak with you. I would be frustrated by that as well, especially since you have been waiting for so long. My earlier comment was in response to your comments about staff, specifically Dr. Sher's nurse's perceived tone on the phone. I was attempting, maybe poorly so, to help you see that it very well could have been the timing of your call, not necessarily the content, so that you might not feel like you were being burdensome. I hope you are able to do some things for you in the coming weeks. I am currently waiting to do transfer with Dr. Sher in September after the transfer portion of my cycle was cancelled in July due to overstimming. While I am in a bit of a better situation because at least I have a plan, I can understand the agony of waiting. Waiting for answers, waiting for results, waiting for a miracle. I'm sorry you've been through so much. I echo all of the sentiments here about acupuncture, etc. Have you considered seeing a therapist? Not because I think there is something wrong with you but because it can be helpful to talk to someone who is objective when you're going through a tough time. They can also help to monitor you to make sure the depression, which is a totally normal response to going through this process, doesn't overwhelm you. Best of luck to you girlie, keep your chin up. Remember, you're making short term sacrifices (hopefully) for a long term goal.

  4. I am so sorry for all that has been going on with you. It seems so unfair, and I just can't imagine how it feels to have hope given to you over and over again, only to be crushed. I pray so hard that you get your sticky baby, and that all this heartache has a purpose.As for the lap: it's really not that bad. It is surgery, but the recovery isn't horrible. And even if they don't find anything, at least it will reduce the possibilities of what can be going on. That's just my thought on it, you really have to do what's right for you.Again, I am so sorry. 😦

  5. Lisa, I would be very upset if my doctor didn't have time to explain a procedure to me if I needed to have it. I think I would schedule a consult ASAP to go over the lap procedure and get all of my questions answered. A lot of money is paid to these people and you deserve four star service no matter if you are currently cycling or not…how I see is, you are still their patient until you get pregnant and afterwards too! πŸ™‚ Their job is not over! Second, I think that stinks that Dr. Sher's office continues to push the dates back on your results. Are there other doctors or a nurse in that office that can give you the results? Does it have to be Dr. Sher or can it be someone else? Again, you've paid a lot of money for this stuff, it angers me that you are being put on the runaround. I'm so sorry you are going through this! Ugh! You deserve much better service! I hope they call you back and apologize for making you wait so long!

  6. Thank you so much ladies! I'm so glad to have your input/advice/support.@Liesel – No worries. I understand what you meant πŸ™‚ I guess I was trying to clarify or make sure that I wasn't coming across as ungrateful to Dr. Sher or anyone. I do see a doctor for anxiety, but I don't really talk about it here. Thanks hun. Good luck in September!!!

  7. You do what you feel is best. Do something that you know you won't regret later down the road.If that means having a lap done, then go for it IMO.

  8. hey – a little late to the lap party, but I think you should go for it. I'm two days post-lap and very glad we did it. My HSG showed something very different than what the lap eventually uncovered, and I feel a heck of a lot better knowing that someone actually got in and took a good look around my lady parts. HSG's aren't always accurate. If it doesn't give you answers, at least it will cancel out some stuff. And that's already progress….

  9. Lisa, I’m Team Lap and here’s why: when I had my ectopic pg in Apr 2009 my doc removed it (and my fallopian tube) via emergency laparoscopy. The procedure itself was very short and recovery was only a couple days… Although I farted for about a week LOL (b/c of the gas they fill your abdominal cavity with during the procedure). During the procure he found several problems: 1) I had a large fibroid about the size of a baseball 2) my uterus was misshaped because of the fibroid which would make it unlikely for me to carry a pregnancy 3) it likely caused my ectopic.

    I got the fibroid removed and you know the rest of my journey πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

