Not so funky, my goals, and a package from Vegas

First, I would like to say thanks to everyone who commented on my recent post (I feel ugly). I’m so appreciative to have people who understand, but at the same time, I’m so sorry that any of you have to go through this.

I realized that I have been letting TTC consume me. I have neglected many aspects of my life. When you want something so badly, it takes priority. However, sometimes it can become unhealthy. I have a lot of trouble letting go – I’m kind of a control freak. But some things are out of my hands, as much as I hate to admit it.

I am happy to say that I’m feeling less funky today! I decided to create some goals to get back on track and hopefully get my life back. I know TTC/IF will always be prominent in my life. And I’m not a miracle worker – anyone who has been TTC long term, can’t just “turn it off”. But I’m going to do my best to stop neglecting important areas of my life – such as hobbies, social life, finances/savings, exercise/weight loss.

It will probably be quite awhile until we can pursue IVF again. In the meantime, I’d like to focus on enjoying life, be with my friends, save money/pay off bills, and be healthy. Although, I actually quit taking all my MILLIONS of supplements and vitamins. Can you believe it?! I’m tired of worrying about my egg quality and swallowing a gazillion pills all the time! I might resume taking just a FEW things once my upcoming bloodwork is done.

I got my package from Las Vegas!! It has all the vials for labs that we need to get a full panel of autoimmune/RPL testing (21 tests!). I plan to get my blood drawn on Wednesday (this coming week), then ship it overnight to a lab that is capable of running all of the tests. I need to check what’s covered under insurance. We plan to still go ahead, even if it’s not covered. We need answers. My labs would be $5,000-$6,000 and Andy’s would be $1,000-$2,000 if NOT covered at all by insurance. Fingers crossed that we don’t have to pay full price!!!

**If you want a FREE phone consult with SIRM/Dr. Sher, you can visit his website here. His blog is also very informative and helpful – click here.

6 thoughts on “Not so funky, my goals, and a package from Vegas

  1. I'm glad you've come up with some goals for moving forward. I did this recently as well. (This is actually Week 1 of my new diet / exercise plan.) I know it's probably not the best time to start such endeavors (I am currently a little over half-way through my 2WW), but these goals have given me something un-baby to focus on and are making a potential BFN easier to cope with. I hope your goals do the same for you!

  2. As hard as it can be to take a break, sometimes it is the healthiest thing for you, both pyhsicallly and mentally. I don't know how people temp for such long periods it made me a crazy mess after just two weeks!Thinking of you!

  3. You sound so positive and happy – love this! It's a really good idea to focus on other things other than TTC. Good for you for recognizing this!!! I really hope you don't have to pay out of pocket for those tests!

  4. Aw Lisa you are so strong! I get strength from you just reading your blogs. You are making a path through this jungle of IF we are in, and are closer and closer to finding your way out! I have been kinda laying low too, been exercising and trying to make other things a focus in my life too. I sure hope your insurance covers your bloodwork! I still pray for you and your miracle to come! Take care of yourself and rest up for your upcoming cycle with Dr Sher! I cant wait for your to finally get your miracle!

  5. So glad you are getting some new bloodwork done and hopefully some answers soon. As for letting TTC take over your life; I understand. I kept making dates to stop testing, taking meds and seeing doctors but then when those dates came I couldn't stop completely. It is very hard to give up completely when you want something so much. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

