Job stress and losing clients

I’m feeling really disheartened because my favorite home health care client is probably not going to make it 😦 Here is the post where I talk about her: One of God’s Angels. She’s the lady I have spoken about with breast cancer that metastasized to her bones and brain. I was just told yesterday that it doesn’t look like she’ll make it through the end of this week. I feel just awful for her loving husband and family. I know she will be extremely missed by so many people. She’s only 62. It’s not fair. I just hope that she’s not in any pain and can be surrounded by her loved ones right now.

My other client is still in the hospital with increased Dementia. There’s no word on when she’ll be coming back. I guess in this business with the elderly, you never know what may happen and when or why. I was surprised and upset to lose my 2 best clients so quickly though. I hope this doesn’t sound terrible & selfish, but I’m really going to need my hours. I have been picking up random hours with other clients, but I’m starting to stress that they won’t find me a couple regular clients to get my time in.

Of course, I care more about the well-being of my clients than some dumb hours, but I’m starting to freak out a little. I cut down my hours at Children’s Hospital, so that I could do THIS job full time. Now I’m worried. Hopefully this is only temporary. Although, I should probably try to plan for the future, in case my hours are going to be going up and down like this. I probably should have thought of that sooner, but it didn’t really occur to me. DOH!!!

I would go back to working more hours at Childrens, but like I mentioned before, that job was really starting to wear on me. I work with low income families where there is a lot of abuse/neglect/etc…and although I LOVE kids, the longer I go without kiddos of my own, the harder it is to work with other people’s kids. Especially POORLY cared for kids. It breaks my heart!! And even if I wanted to work more hours there, they are already starting to fill the days that I’m not there. I’m down to 2 days a week now.

So, crap. I’m starting my new cycle here feeling stressed and I don’t like it!!! I need to find some relief and relaxation. I hope that it all works out.

8 thoughts on “Job stress and losing clients

  1. your concern for your financial well being is NOT selfish; its a fact of life. We all need money to survive and your dear patients would understand that too. Could you pick up hours PRN at the hospital until you gain new full time clients? Or somewhere else?I will keep your patients in my prayers…I am an oncology nurse and seeing such young people die of the disease continues to break my heart 😦

  2. This has to be one of the hardest part of your jobs – watching the clients that you come to care for get worse, and maybe die. I continue to admire you that you can do this, and do it so well. Sending you a hug!

  3. Sorry to hear about your client. Home health is very hard but rewarding as you have seen.Hope you get your hours worked out. Try not to stress, im sure it will all work out.

  4. It isn't selfish to worry about making ends meet! I'm sorry you are having to worry about all this and also feel sad about losing someone who has become so special to you. I wish I could give you a real live hug, but alas I must content myself with a virtual one. *HUGS*

  5. That has the be the toughest part about working with the elderly or terminal patients, at some point they probably won't recover. Hopefully they are able to go peacefully and know that you were there to offer them loving care in their final days.

Leave a Reply

