My crazy work schedule at the moment

This is my crazy schedule:

Home Health care job:
Friday 10pm – overnight until 3pm Saturday
(Go home from about 3:30pm-9:30pm on Saturday)
Saturday night 10pm – overnight until 3pm Sunday
(Go home from about 3:30pm-9:30pm on Sunday)
Sunday night 10pm – overnight until 9am Monday morning
(This is all with one client)

Then, I work Monday through Friday (except for Thursday)
from 10am-12pm with client #2.

Children’s Hospital:
Monday through Thursday from 4pm -ish to 9:30pm -ish
(I’m cutting my days to 2 days a week, instead of 4, starting the week after next. Then I’d like to cut back even more, but still stay on as contingent and work as needed.)

That’s almost 80 hours a week now! I’m only doing it so we can pay off our recent IVF cycle and save for future treatments. We also have a couple other bills that would be nice to pay off before we have a child (IF we have a child). I plan on cutting my hours before long. But I don’t know *when* exactly and I don’t like that. It feels like I’m doing all this work for nothing. I should sit down and figure out a plan of payment, so that I can see on paper, how long I have to do this.

A few things I’m worried about with these extra hours (even though it’s not forever) is that it might be too much stress for me, which = bad for my body & mind = bad for fertility = bad if I get pregnant. My other concern is that we’re looking into foster-parenting. I’m not sure how many hours I would want to work if I have a small child to care for. I definitely won’t be working over 40 hours a week then.

I swear, I am going to do a spa day, or get a pedicure or something soon! I need to treat myself!

16 thoughts on “My crazy work schedule at the moment

  1. Girl, that's a lot! It makes sense that the better we take care of ourselves – not being overworked, good sleep, vitamins, minimizing stress, positive thought pattern, acu, etc. – the better prepared our bodies will be to conceive. On the other hand, I hear about women with IF who do none of the above and still get pregnant. So, in a very roundabout way I'm trying to say that as long as you don't feel overwhelmed by all the hours, doing it for a while is good – there's a certain peace of mind that comes from being able to take care of debt and set yourself up for your future, whether that's IVF or fostering. Just make sure to find some time for you!

  2. Wow, that is a lot of work. You should absolutely treat yourself!I love the foster care idea! I could see you being such a great foster mom!!Please don't say "if" when refering to your future baby (babies), I do beleive that you will have your child.I am thinking of you!

  3. You are such a champ. I only have one part-time job and I feel overwhelmed most of the time – not really from the work though, more from the IF other life stuff. I'm so glad you are looking into foster parenting. I have read some really beautiful stories about that, and I've thought about looking it into more myself in the future. Best of luck with everything, and make sure to take a little time to take care of yourself. It is too important.

  4. Holy crap girl! I applaud your determination to pay off the bills asap but don't forget to take care of you! Sending hugs and baby dust your way!

  5. That is a lot of hours! I used to work night shift as a RN and it was definitely tiring. Make sure to rest a lot when you are home!

  6. IT is amazing what we will do to make life easier (financially!) Just remember to make your own health #1! If you can pull THIS off, you can pretty much handle anything thats thrown your way πŸ™‚

  7. Holy smokes! How long can you keep that up? I need a nap after reading this post! :DOn a positive note, isn't it great to be busy? I love it!

Leave a Reply

