A very kind gesture

My blog link is on my facebook profile, but I’m sure the link goes unnoticed, mostly. However, a friend from nursing school happened to read my blog, and she has been sending supportive messages. I thought it was really nice, because we hadn’t talked a whole lot since school ended.

The night before last, she offered to add me to the prayer chains at her churches. She also insisted on throwing a fundraiser in my honor! I felt so touched that someone would make such a wonderful, kind gesture. I cried. My husband was so surprised and touched, as well.

I told her that it would feel strange taking money from people, but she insisted that she wanted to do this for me. Her husband is a chef, and he said he could prepare a meal and we could charge admission. She even contacted one of the pastors, and he said he would be happy to help!

I don’t even mind if we don’t make any money. I am just so grateful and surprised by the generosity of others. For her to even offer to do that, is so selfless and sweet. I’ll take all the prayers I can get, but the money doesn’t matter so much. It definitely would help us get closer to making our dream come true, and for that I am very humbled and thankful.

I plan on meeting with the pastor and attending their services. I would love to get more active in church. It’s been awhile since I’ve attended any services, I’m ashamed to admit. If anything, I would love to meet new people and share my story. I hope to be able to reach out and help others, if I can.

Just when you feel like giving up, that this will never work, and there’s no hope – special people come along and lift you up. I can’t tell you what it means to me, to have received so much support from my loved ones, my girls on my favorite forum, and the blogging network. You are all a God send! xoxo

20 thoughts on “A very kind gesture

  1. Aww, that is really sweet of her to do.Just when you think humanity couldn't get any worse, a person like that appears to restore your faith in the human race.

  2. Thanks ladies! I feel so overwhelmed with gratitude.Wonder woman – Nope, I just like to change things up. I guess I'm a little bit computer savvy 🙂

  3. Love the new design, Lisa! I know it's easy to lose hope along the way, but there are still good people that can restore that hope a little and show you how much good there is out there! Excited for you guys! 🙂

  4. That is amazingly beautiful gesture. I am very touched by it. I am so happy for you having amazing support from your loved ones. No couple should be stopped from pursuing the best options to have a baby because of money. Please don't be afraid of asking financial support. Your friend's fundraising idea sounds very good. Sweet.

  5. Maybe it's just because I'm over emotional today, but this post moved me to tears. It is so wonderful to have those reminders of how kind and thoughtful many people are. I love that you have such a person in your life. And I hope that the fundraiser will end up being a smashing success.

  6. That is so sweet of her! Some people really make all the difference in the world! I am so happy to hear that, because you deserve it Lisa! I can't wait to hear how it goes. I know what you mean about going back to church. I was thinking about going this coming Saturday, and then coming home to read this, I think I will definitely go. Thinking of you chicky! I will add you to my list as well! 😉

  7. that made my heart just smile…it is wonderful hearing about such good willed kindess and out of someone you aren't close with!! That is just amazing and shows the kind of person you are 🙂

Leave a Reply

