Current cocktail and side effects

I’m on day 4 of Clomid 100mg and day 2 of Follstim 325 units.

Clomid (2) 50mg tabs every night CD 3-7 – Only 2 more doses

Follistim 325 units every night CD 5-?

I started feeling pinches in my ovaries after a couple doses of Clomid. I was somewhat surprised to feel something so soon. Although, I seem to be pretty sensitive and aware of what’s happening in my ovaries after paying attention to them for so long. lol.

A few of my cycle buddies have seemed concerned that they haven’t felt anything in their ovaries yet — but that’s okay. Everyone is different. Some people are more sensitive than others. I’ve heard of ladies with like 15 follies that didn’t really feel much. I tend to feel it, even if there’s only a couple follies in there.

Yesterday, after 3 doses of Clomid, I began to feel bloated. Especially if I ate or drank too much, it felt like there wasn’t as much room in my lower abdomen.

Last night, after my 4th dose of Clomid and 1st dose of Follistim, I felt dizzy and tired. I still feel really tired today.

I have never injected that much Follistim into my belly at one time. It burned quite a bit, even after a couple minutes had passed. It wasn’t terribly uncomfortable though. No pain, no gain! πŸ™‚

I also feel quite warm. I normally feel pretty warm compared to others, but these meds make me feel like I’m burning up! I had to crack the bedroom window last night, even though it’s below freezing! I’m like a menopausal woman right now.

No mood swings…yet. lol. Not looking forward to those! No headaches yet either – yay!

Other than that, I just feel spacey and out of it. I don’t know how much the meds have to do with that because I’m also just anxious and easily distracted.

I keep playing out different scenarios in my head. I’m trying to think about how things might go. There’s no possible way to know though. Most of my thoughts and scenarios are positive, but occasionally, a bad one slips in.

I’ve been reading books by this author – Jodi Picoult. She is SO good. She wrote My Sister’s Keeper, which was made into a movie. Reading is such a great escape and has helped me shut off my thoughts. I’ve been reading every night before bed and sleeping much better.

20 thoughts on “Current cocktail and side effects

  1. Good luck! Hopefully those side effects are just your body doing what it needs to do. I'm so hopeful for you this cycle!Jodi Picoult is awesome. My favorites are The Pact and Nineteen Minutes (couldn't read this one before bed…gave me nightmares), but they are all great. πŸ™‚

  2. Oh clomid always gave me headaches and hot flashes.I'm glad your s/e aren't that bad. Hopefully it will stay that way! hehGood luck and FX for a bunch of growing follicles!

  3. Thanks ladies! Yeah, it hasn't been too bad yet, but it will only get worse from this point on LOLStefanie – Right now I'm reading Handle with Care. OMG, talk about a tear-jerker. I'll be reading those 2 you mentioned, next! πŸ™‚

  4. Woohoo! You are rolling in here. I dont have any experience with clomid, but hey, if its working we love it right. 325units is a big body dosage, so i'm sure that's why its burning.I am so excited for you. Sincerely.

  5. I loved my Sisters Kepper, read that one and saw the movie.The clomid pill was the worst for me, but wasn't so bad. i wondered if higher dosages of the follistim would feel different, now I know :)I am so excited things are moving right along for you. grow follies grow!

  6. Yay! Reading can be such a nice distraction and a great escape, too! I love Jodi Picoult and have read quite a few of her books. If you ever need any suggestions, let me know. I constantly have my nose in a book! :)Glad you're feeling some activity, too! I was pretty hot on Femara. Might I recommend light knits for the next couple of weeks? πŸ˜‰

  7. I agree with the ladies on Femara/Clomid side effects. I got really bad hot flashes at night with both. As for the Follistim, I'll be on 275 units per day so I have no idea what my side effects might be. I didn't know it might burn…keep us posted!

  8. Thanks ladies! :)Thansks Aub, my sister lent me like ALL of Jodi Picoult's books! I'm so excited to read more!Christa – The most Follistim I ever took before was 150 units – didn't feel anything with that one. I imagine yours might burn, too. Hopefully not too bad!Yeah Clomid is an evil drug, but I gotta love it because it works so well for me! πŸ™‚

  9. Hey Lisa,Yay for the pinches and twinges. I don't know about the Follistim, but the Clomid definitely gave me some powerful hot flashes. I think these are all great signs…here's to a successful cycle!

  10. So glad your not having headaches or mood swings!!! i so pray my DR will finally put me on Clomid next cycle if we dont have our BFP… lol Silly Canadian ways sometimes… hehehe sooooo utterly stoked for ya Lady!

  11. Hey Lisai changed the URL to my blog, so being blessed and on your list of blogs, my addy is nowttcbabylahn.blogspot.comno longermarlysjustacountrygirl.blogspot.comThanks Ladyand im still stoked for you guys im feelin it

Leave a Reply

