Why take Birth Control Pills (BCP)?

I’ve had several people ask why they would put me on BCP if I’m trying to get pregnant. It does seem odd, doesn’t it? There are 2 explanations for this. One reason is that BCP suppress your ovaries. After your ovaries have been suppressed for a short period of time, it is said that they will become more active when you stop BCP.

Certain hormones are also suppressed while on BCP, and when you stop taking them, your hormones kick into high gear. This is often why you hear of people getting pregnant right after stopping the pill. In fact, the chance of twin pregnancy is higher after taking the pill! Crazy, huh?!

I have to take 20 active BCP. Currently I am on day 9, so I only have 11 days to go! I’ll be starting Lupron in about 14 days, then Gonal F in about 16 days.

Lupron and Gonal F are injections that will act on my hormones which are already kicking into high gear, and make the hormones even stronger. This is how so many follicles, or eggs, are produced during an IVF cycle. I hope that makes sense! LoL 🙂

2 thoughts on “Why take Birth Control Pills (BCP)?

Leave a Reply

