Cycle 17 and a few other things

After my last post, I felt a little guilty about complaining about the cost of IVF for us. I know a lot of people have shelled out a lot more money than we have for fertility treatments. I hate that any infertile couple (whether they have insurance or not) has to pay thousands of dollars to achieve their dream of becoming parents. It’s something so simple that comes so easily to others. It’s not fair that, even with insurance, it’s completely unaffordable for people. I did find some resources that may be of some help, which I will post in a bit.

Andy and I got into a big fight yesterday morning before I left for work. He is really stressed out about money, as am I. We NEVER fight. We’ve had a lot of large, unexpected bills lately that have contributed to our stress. Not to mention, I’ve been seeing my RE for about 7 months now. All the testing, appointments, medications, etc have added up to thousands of dollars – even with insurance. DH went so far as to say that we aren’t financially ready for a baby at all, let alone trying to get a loan or something for IVF. That really hurt me. After everything we’ve went through to have a baby, it was like a slap in the face.

Andy did apologize and said he didn’t mean to say that. I told him that I need him to support me, and in turn I will support him. We will get through this. We can’t give up, and we can’t turn on each other. Currently, we are TTC Naturally (this cycle) while we research ways to pay for IVF. We may reassess the situation and find that we can do IVF in a couple months…or 6 months…or longer…I really don’t know. Right now, unfortunately, the option is off the table. We may try to do another IUI or 2 while we wait.

I can’t stand to put things off because my condition will only get worse. As I age, my ovaries get older (faster than “normal” people). I am anxious to get more aggressive.

I want to say a big thanks to everyone that has supported me through this trying time. I wish the best to all of you who read this. ❤

2 thoughts on “Cycle 17 and a few other things

  1. Lisa, I cannot begin to imagine the stress you both are facing. I just wanted to let you know that I am still stalking you off TWW, and I am rooting for you, girl! Stay STRONG!-Amie (mommyto3+1)

  2. I don't know you, but I have been following your story on tww. I am so desparately sorry that you are having to deal with all this stress.You are so right – money should not control who is able to become parents and who is not. Finances should dictate people's dreams. You have a right to become a mother and I'm praying, wishing and hoping that your dream comes true – because you undoubtedly deserve it.Kerrie – I'm on fbook (kerrie clyde)(MC at 13 weeks; 25/12/2005 and 6 weeks; 29/03/2006)

Leave a Reply

